Motivation logo

4 Ways to Feel More Empowered

From Someone Who's Done the Work

By Ashaki AliPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hi my name is Ashaki and I am a holistic health practitioner. I have been speaking to multiple people and there is a constant theme of people feeling disempowered. So, I sat and I thought about all of the ways I have been able to maintain the SUPER feeling of empowerment. I literally walk around with a huge E on my chest (insert laughter here)! Well I may not walk around with an E on my chest but my confidence, my tenacity, and my overall strength shows and permeates my very being. So, what is the secret? Shhhh, don’t tell anyone this — there is NO SECRET! But, there are some simple and practical ways to improve your views and help you to feel more empowered.

  1. Affirm yourself daily. Listen, we have all had times in which we have felt like we are a loser but there are things that you have done that have made you feel proud, situations we have overcome that would’ve caused some people to fold, times when we felt like a lottery winner. List the characteristics about yourself that you love and/or are proud of, reflect on the list, and review it every single day until it becomes second nature. The more you positively affirm yourself, the better you will feel.
  2. Work it out! Daily exercise not only helps to keep that body right and tight, but it also allows you to experience those feel good hormones, endorphins. These endorphins produce a lovely high and positive feeling throughout your body. Exercise also improves your mood, decreasing depression, among other great health and emotional benefits. So, get to moving!
  3. Meditate, meditate, meditate! I know you may be tired of hearing about the benefits of meditation but, I am hear to remind you yet again. I can not say enough about the benefits of meditation and how life-changing it has been. Not only has meditation helped me to get clear on a ton of issues, it has helped me to get a handle on the negative lizard brain that runs most of us mad. Have you ever had an awesome idea and then hear a little voice saying “Don’t waste your time, it will not be successful,” “You shouldn’t do that because you are not good enough,” “You are not talented,” and so on. That mind is not you. It is the voices of others that you have heard over the years. The lizard brain is not the truth and you should not feed into it. Meditation can help quiet it down.
  4. Take control! Have you been wanting to do something different in your life but continuously find ways not to do it? For example you may want to take a trip to Ghana but instantly say, “I don’t have the money and I don’t have a passport.” How about budgeting for your trip and following the steps to obtain your passport. Some of you may not know what else you want to do but you talk yourself out of it. Make a list of things and start doing them; you will find something that sparks your spirit. Don’t procrastinate anymore. Start today!

This is a very short list but a very powerful one. I speak from experience. I suffered for many years with self-doubt, low self-esteem, and lack of drive. I always knew I wanted to be better and do better but I had no idea as to how I could get from point A to point B. But, I kept going!

Living a purpose-driven life has helped me tremendously. I take action daily to assist with my goals. And I feel empowered through my actions. I hope this list has helped you.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.