Motivation logo

30 Journal Entries to Self Discovery—Day 25

What do I need to learn today that will help with my future goals?

By Michelle SchultzPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like

Hey everyone! Happy day twenty-five!! I still can't believe we only have five days left. Time flew by. I hope you all continue to read my posts after this. I hope I've been enjoyable enough that you want to keep reading my posts after this! Have fun with these last few days! Here's the quote of the day: "Writing is something you do alone. It's a profession for introverts who want to tell a story but don't want to make eye contact while they're doing it."—John Green

DAY TWENTY-FIVE: WHAT DO I NEED TO LEARN TODAY THAT WILL HELP WITH MY FUTURE GOALS?

Well, I need to learn a lot of things. There is a vast amount of knowledge I need to learn. I am the first to admit that I do not know everything. My dad loves when I say that because I thought I knew everything in high school. I was a very dumb teenager. However, now learning is one of my favorite activities. I'm working on business school right now. I don't know that I'm actually learning any new information yet and I'm really beginning to wonder what the hell I'm paying for. But I'm going and studying...kind of. I won't complain about it much since I love school anyway. I wish school was free because I would go for the rest of my life, for fun. Only to classes I like though.

I really need to learn more about writing though. One of my favorite quotes is: "Continue to learn; what you know will never be enough." That is the reason I own pretty much every book on writing in existence. It's entirely too much for one person to own and I have not read them all. I try to read like one a month though. I have about seven notebooks filled with notes on writing. They all sit on my bookshelf next to my bed so that when I'm stuck while I'm writing, I pull them off the shelf and go through them for inspiration. I also try very hard to read multiple books a month in different genres just to get a good sense of how other people write. I fully believe it's a good idea to view how other people do things even if they're not exactly the same as what you hope to accomplish. It's still good study material. And I mean, who doesn't love a good book?

But I'm supposed to be writing about what I could learn today that would help me with my future goals. I guess the main thing I could learn would be about mythological creatures. I've been slowly reading up on them for a book I'm working on (and have been working on for about a year), but I should be doing more. I should be researching more before I write, but I've been writing, researching, and rewriting according to my research. I need to get books on mythological creatures and learn as much as I can and write accordingly. Then I can edit just based on the style of my writing, not on the facts. Plus, editing because of facts take a lot longer to edit than editing because of writing. It would probably make writing a lot quicker and easier. That is definitely what I should learn today.

My thoughts: This is actually an interesting self-discovery question. It really made me think. I believe it's a great question especially if your main focus with this self-discovery project is to improve yourself to focus on one main thing. I also think it's perfectly placed in the journal entry journey. It's placed just far enough out that you're already focused. Great question.

Day Twenty-Five: What Do I Need to Learn Today That Will Help with My Future Goals?

Well, I need to learn a lot of things. There is a vast amount of knowledge I need to learn. I am the first to admit that I do not know everything. My dad loves when I say that because I thought I knew everything in high school. I was a very dumb teenager. However, now learning is one of my favorite activities. I'm working on business school right now. I don't know that I'm actually learning any new information yet and I'm really beginning to wonder what the hell I'm paying for. But I'm going and studying... kind of. I won't complain about it much since I love school anyway. I wish school was free because I would go for the rest of my life, for fun. Only to classes I like though.

I really need to learn more about writing though. One of my favorite quotes is: "Continue to learn; what you know will never be enough." That is the reason I own pretty much every book on writing in existence. It's entirely too much for one person to own and I have not read them all. I try to read like one a month though. I have about seven notebooks filled with notes on writing. They all sit on my bookshelf next to my bed so that when I'm stuck while I'm writing, I pull them off the shelf and go through them for inspiration. I also try very hard to read multiple books a month in different genres just to get a good sense of how other people write. I fully believe it's a good idea to view how other people do things even if they're not exactly the same as what you hope to accomplish. It's still good study material. And I mean, who doesn't love a good book?

But I'm supposed to be writing about what I could learn today that would help me with my future goals. I guess the main thing I could learn would be about mythological creatures. I've been slowly reading up on them for a book I'm working on (and have been working on for about a year), but I should be doing more. I should be researching more before I write, but I've been writing, researching, and rewriting according to my research. I need to get books on mythological creatures and learn as much as I can and write accordingly. Then I can edit just based on the style of my writing, not on the facts. Plus, editing because of facts take a lot longer to edit than editing because of writing. It would probably make writing a lot quicker and easier. That is definitely what I should learn today.

My thoughts: This is actually an interesting self-discovery question. It really made me think. I believe it's a great question especially if your main focus with this self-discovery project is to improve yourself to focus on one main thing. I also think it's perfectly placed in the journal entry journey. It's placed just far enough out that you're already focused. Great question.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Schultz

I'm mostly an editorial writer. I love to share my opinions and experiences. I don't hold back and I swear so if you take offense easily, my articles probably aren't for you. I'm a single mom just trying to stay sane.

@loreleismom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.