Motivation logo

30 Journal Entries to Self Discovery - Day 24

Who can I talk to that has been where I'm trying to go?

By Michelle SchultzPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

Hey guys! Welcome to day twenty-four. I'm kind of sad that we're on our last week. This has actually been a lot of fun and I've really enjoyed talking to all of you. Anyway, I hope you will continue to write and here is a quote to keep you motivated to write by another amazing writer: "Abandon the idea that you are ever going to finish. Lose track of the 400 pages and write just one page each day, it helps. Then when it gets finished, you are always surprised." - John Steinbeck

DAY TWENTY-FOUR: WHO CAN I TALK TO THAT HAS BEEN WHERE I'M TRYING TO GO?

I can list a ton of people that I would pay a million dollars to talk to. The first one being one of my idols, Joanne Rowling. The famous J.K. Rowling is not only a single mother, like me, but also aspired to write a fantasy series and made it there. That is where I hope to be. I have a million questions for her; how did she find time to write every day? How did she keep going even when she felt she hit rock bottom? Who helped her with her kids while she was working? When she couldn't find inspiration, how did she keep going? Did she have a specific spot she liked to write at? (I like a specific desk at my local library). There's just so much I would love to ask her and learn from her. I would pay a vast amount of money just to have a cup of coffee with her.

I would also pay vast amounts of money to talk to Jodi Picoult. I have so many questions for her too. She's another one of my heroes. Granted, our writing genres differ, but still. Her writing is so beautiful. It's like having a conversation with a best friend, reading her work. I want to know how she got the idea to write from different prospectives. I also want to ask her how she got the courage to write about such controversial topics. I mean, obviously, she's not writing full-blown articles about the Kavanaugh case but she touches on topics like school shootings. One of my favorite books by her is all about a school shooting and the controversies surrounding it and her perspectives on the matter are astounding. She covers every view of each topic she covers and I love the way she does it. I wish I could sit down and talk with her.

In reality, though, I will probably never meet either of these women. That's okay though because the person I really should talk to about where I'm at and where I want to go is my dad. He's not a famous writer. He's not even really a writer. He was a single parent though, with ambitious business goals. He did everything he had to do in order to accomplish his goals and he did an outstanding job. He built a life for him and his kids and didn't let anyone stop him. That's where I want to be. I want to create something that will not only provide for my family but something my daughter can be proud of. I want to make something that's brag-worthy. I know that sounds lame, but I want to have something so brag-worthy that I don't even have to bring it up.

There are so many writers and people that I want to be like. My dad laid the groundwork for it. He bought me the books that I love so much and encouraged my writing in every way, shape, and form and still does. He has always had my back and given me the motivation to take after all of the writers that I love but I don't think he's realized that the person I most want to be is him. Even with his struggles and success, he the most generous and humble person I know while still being hard-working and determined. I hope I'm half the person he is and I really should make more time to sit down and really talk to him about how far he has come.

My thoughts: Beautiful topic. I think this a great question and really helps you look at the people around you to see how you can benefit from them. It's also an outstanding question for the fact that it makes you look specifically at where you would like to be based on where you are now.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Schultz

I'm mostly an editorial writer. I love to share my opinions and experiences. I don't hold back and I swear so if you take offense easily, my articles probably aren't for you. I'm a single mom just trying to stay sane.

@loreleismom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.