Motivation logo

30 Journal Entries to Self Discovery - Day 15

What does the perfect day look like?

By Michelle SchultzPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

Hello all! Welcome to day fifteen! I can't believe I'm already halfway done with this series. I hope everyone is enjoying following along and I really want to thank everyone for following along. I know it's not the most interesting article series in the world, but I hope at least those of you that are also writers are finding it entertaining. It's still weird to me. But has inspired me and maybe I'll do something like this again. Anyway, here's the quote for today: "It's not too late to write your best story" - Bryan Hutchinson

DAY FIFTEEN: WHAT DOES THE PERFECT DAY LOOK LIKE?

My perfect day, I wake up before the sun comes up. Not in a groggy, didn't get enough sleep kind of way. Rather, in an excited that I woke up in time to see the sun come up kind of way. I'd have enough time to make myself a cup of coffee and climb up to the flat part of the roof of our house and sit with my coffee and watch the sun come up. Watch the different colors stretch across the sky in a rainbow of emotion and light while I enjoy a semi-hot, super sweet cup of coffee, in my pajamas.

Once the sun comes up, I'll climb off the roof and have time to shower before my daughter wakes up. Then, I'll wake her up. But waking up is hard so we'll eat our cereal and watch cartoons curled up on the couch until we're actually ready to face the day. Not the new cartoons either, the good cartoons. The cartoons my generation and the generation before me grew up with like Bugs Bunny and Scooby-Doo. There will be no rush to actually start the day.

Once we do though, once we're dressed and ready to actually do things with our day besides sit on the couch, we'll hit the road. We'll walk to the park and all my sisters will meet us there. My one sister's foot wouldn't hurt (even though she's had 800 million surgeries on it) and we'll crack all of our inside jokes and just play. Eventually, we'll settle down enough to eat the picnic that we packed. There will actually be a picnic table open and all of the kids will miraculously sit and eat without argument. Oh, and we'll be eating Portillo's because... I mean what's more perfect than Portillo's lunch? Nothing, exactly. After lunch, we all say our good-byes and walk home.

Lorelei, my daughter, goes down for her nap and I get a solid two hours to just write. There are no interruptions. No one else is home. No one calls me, or texts me. I just write in the beautiful silence of my backyard. For a solid two hours. It's super nice. After that EXACTLY two hours, my daughter wakes up and we leave again.

We go to the arcade with my other mommy friends and their kids. It's a blast. Even though some of our kids are really young, the older kids are helping them out. We order pizza (Giordano's) at the arcade and just play for hours. The kids are having a blast and we're actually getting to spend time with each other and have fun in the same setting as our kids. And miraculously we're not even drinking. The kids even stop playing to let us take pictures of them all together, and not one of them moves during the picture.

We all split up and take our kids home. My daughter and I go through our nightly routine without any crying. We brush our teeth, change her into her pajamas, read 5 books, sing a song or two, say our prayers and then she lays down to go to sleep without getting up for water or to use the bathroom eighteen times. I have a babysitter to stay at the house with her and I get ready to leave as they show up.

My dad picks me up and him and I go grab an appetizer at one of my favorite places (Evviva) while we wait for everyone else to show up and we catch up on each other's lives, bitch about politics, and make jokes about the people around us and in our lives. There is no stress in these moments. These are some of my favorite moments with my dad. After about an hour, my closest friends show up along with my stepmom and a few friends from Iowa. My dad stays, even though he's drinking non-alcoholic and makes jokes at our expense.

We spend the night, casually drinking, making jokes, singing along with the country songs that play on the sound system and reminiscing. At about midnight, my dad and a few others take off. We stay, and drink and dance and make jokes. By last call, everyone's laughing and we've made so many new inside jokes and had a ball. Everyone texts me to let me know they got home safely. When I get home, my daughter is still asleep, curled up in her bed.

That. That is the absolute perfect day. I would give anything to have that day be a real thing.

My thoughts: I thought this assignment was perfect. It really made me look at all the factors and people that I most enjoyed being around. Creating my perfect wasn't at all what I expected but it definitely gave me some insight to myself. I think if you really take this question and think about how you would spend the perfect day from the moment you wake up to the moment you fall asleep, you would really learn a few things about yourself. It is a spectacular question for self- discovery.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Schultz

I'm mostly an editorial writer. I love to share my opinions and experiences. I don't hold back and I swear so if you take offense easily, my articles probably aren't for you. I'm a single mom just trying to stay sane.

@loreleismom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.