Motivation logo

30 Days of Self-Love: Day 1

Learning to love yourself can be challenging, so I made it into a game. 30 days of questions I don't know the answer to, simple lifestyle changes and less crying.

By Chelsea FosPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Via https://www.lovebombbootcamp.com

Recently, I was watching a video and the narrator of the video was talking about her journey to finding herself and discovering her happiness. She said, "How could I expect anyone to love being with me when I didn't even love being with me. I needed to learn who I was, not as mommy or wife, but as myself." This statement has dramatically echoed in my head, and I haven't been able to stop thinking about it since. Struck by realization, I knew I needed to make some changes.

Day one of this challenge has been all about answering one simple question: "Why don't I love myself and what can I do to change my mind?" More specifically, I want to dig deeper and answer this question so I can understand what about myself is making it hard for me to accept who I am, be alone with myself, and just be happy. So here's what I came up with:

1. Insecurity

Like most women my age, I am self-conscious about my body. I am constantly looking for ways to improve myself, but nothing is ever good enough. I have been battling with myself internally over my body for years, but I'm done fighting. So, all day I have been telling myself something I like about my body, and I went to exercise. I am going to eliminate the negative attitude that I carry when speaking about my body and myself by continuing these habits, as well as eating healthier and drinking more water. I know, easier said than done. However, I believe trying shows that you care enough to make a change.

2. Social Anxiety

I am constantly anxious. I could be sitting at home, alone, doing absolutely nothing and the thought of social interaction makes my palms sweat and my stomach turn. I recently moved across the country, so I have been having a great deal of trouble adjusting to the new environment. Feeling socially anxious has made it 10 times harder to make new friends. This, for me, is a tricky trait to fix in one day, it will likely take a lot of time. I am beginning by taking a moment when I start to feel anxious to take deep breaths and talk myself down. I am going to put myself in more social situations rather than isolate myself in my apartment all day long. The isolation leaves me feeling lonely and the anxiety destroys my confidence in any social situation.

3. Lack of Confidence in My Abilities

I'm unemployed. I have been applying around every where but I have been unable to get a job after three months of living in a new town. It makes me feel pathetic and unqualified to do anything, and has left me with very little confidence. I have even begun to question my future career which I have always been so sure that I would be great at.

Through asking myself this question, I have discovered that my self-love is diminished by my lack of confidence in myself, including my body, my abilities, and even my personality. I am going to change the negative tone in my mental voice to a more positive cheerful tone. I actively am advocating for women to empower other women yet I can't even empower myself. Welcome to the beginning of my journey; join me as I find reasons to love myself and become more confident woman.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Chelsea Fos

22 | Just a college graduate looking for something to do with my degree.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.