Motivation logo

3 men that inspire me

Why they are so inspirational

By Gavin PerkinsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Everyone has at least one person that inspires them to a certain extent. I have chosen 3 people that truly inspire me. The first person is my father. He is a compassionate, hard-working, intelligent and driven man. He is an entrepreneur, owning a successful business doing IT work for the common people and car dealerships. There are truly a plethora of reasons as to why he is inspiring. I think, one of the most inspiring things is how he can leave his work at work. He comes home even when he hasn't had an ideal day and loves his wife and kids.Treats them with respect, and spends time with them. Another attribute that is inspirational, is his faith. He has gone through dark times and come out a better man due to his faith. He has a strong relationship with God. I aspire to have such a deep connection with God one day. As I mentioned before, his business. His reasoning behind the business, is he is called to help people. My father, has found two concepts that he is passionate about. IT. Which is always changing. And helping people. He then found a way to implement those two into a business. The second person I find to be inspiring is Jon Acuff. Jon Acuff is New York Times Bestselling author of six books and runs StuffChristiansLike.net, which has over 3 million readers. I find him inspiring for numerous reasons. He has the ability to input humor into serious topics. In this interview with Jon, he mentions that he uses humor and pairs it with unfunny topics. Jon Acuff: "It’s research-based, but it’s really really funny. I mean, there’s a reason comedians like Jim Gaffigan endorse my books. It’s because they’re humorous. My niche is to write with humor on a fairly unfunny topic." Humor is a value of mine. His words inspire me. Putting humor with topics that I can learn from. Put's his words in a whole different perspective. His book, Start, was one of the most influencing books I've read. At the time, I was going through a dark time. I was feeling hopeless. That book is what guided me how to start a new chapter. Fear is what held me back. I learned that from his book. His connections with Dave Ramsey are inspiring too. Jon was a small blogger at one point. Just like me. His career took off, and he started working with Dave Ramsey. It's remarkable to think that a blogger, who didn't have a fan base at one point. Used to work with Dave Ramsey. A world renowned speaker and author. I grew up listening to Dave Ramsey. It's incredible how connections . The third person I find to be inspiring is Tony Dungy. He is the author of a book called uncommon. Along with my dad, that book has shaped my beliefs. Tony has a powerful faith with God too. In uncommon, Tony mentions his ideal ways of living and how to live them. In correlation to his faith, of course. Tony shares the same beliefs with parenting, loving your children, having integrity, etc. Which, has been instilled into me by my parents. His accomplishments as an ex-pro football star and coach are also admirable. All these people hold a common ground. They share the same beliefs and hold them to a high standard. My dad doesn't come home and love his family when he wants to. Jon doesn't just have faith in God when he wants to. He holds his standards with integrity, which creates a value. These three men are uncommon, as Tony would say. They love their families and haven't been absent fathers. They are doing what they love and making sure they do it well. They help people that need help, sometimes without realizing it. These men are my inspirations. That is why.

goals
1

About the Creator

Gavin Perkins

Young photographer and blogger

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.