Motivation logo

3 Little Words

new career, new goals, and the 3 words that give life

By Matt HallPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

A new career, new goals, and the three little words that give life.

I Got It!

These are in no way the three little words. So much for wishful thinking.

Something about our nature always feels as if "I Got It" is the goal. You know.... be the one who takes charge. Effect the bottom line at that office, by taking on as much as possible until you're noticed. Of course, step two is becoming irreplaceable, right?

That's how you've achieved the success you've attained thus far, right?

ABSOLUTELY!

Being more talented in one area and more observant in another. Remaining consistent and double-checking your work. Finding out how to have that edge yet remain approachable. I know.. I know.. you've mastered it.

Scoot over and make some room for yours truly. I was certain this was the way to go. It's the reason I dress how I dress.

Allow me to explain.

I have to buy polyester shirts, the flexibility gives just enough room for the S on my chest to sit comfortably. Insert an eye-roll where ever you'd like. However, that's definitely how I would like things to go. I want to be the hero darn it! It's the reason superman and batman movies are usually hits at the box office. We like to aspire to be self-sufficient. But if honesty were to find its way through the thick layer of macho, otherwise known as skin. I would be able to tell you. So far, I have been unable to accomplish this.

We Need People!

These are also not the 3 words but they might as well be. A healthy understanding of this is the beginning of stress deficiency. I'm not talking about avoiding responsibilities. You've probably seen your fair share of that. All of us have had a supervisor that hasn't quite mastered the art of eating their vegetables. They always take the steak and apparently, we love the Brussel sprouts. In retrospect, it's usually eating the vegetables that reveal you're ready for the steak. Become a professional at the job no one wants to do and you're bound to be trusted with more. Understanding this will lead you to the holy trinity. Did you guess the three words? Here they are.

I Don't Know

I was told by a very successful boss, who I'm sure at this point is close to owning the company, that you always want to be the new person on the team. He told me, you never want to be the tenured expert. Of course, you need the expert, but the successful person doesn't want to be in that position. I have to say, initially, I didn't understand this, but it gradually became obvious. It's the key element that every HR manager and potential company is hoping to acquire. The forever learner. The curious knowledge seeker.

"I DONT KNOW" These words are magical. They don't make you look incompetent, no one knows everything. However, they are preferred to misleading or wrong information. "I don't Know, but ill find out for you" is always, and I mean always, the best answer when uncertain.

It's ok not to have the answer, it's never ok not to have questions. Somewhere down the line imagination is driven out of us at adolescence. We imagined more when we knew the least about the world. Why is that? I think it's because there are so many possibilities when facts are not there to tell you it's impossible. "Why not" is so much more attractive than "We've tried everything already." Continuous learning always chases the unknown. Don't be afraid of "I don't know"

Dos Equis said it right.

Stay thirsty my friends

how to
2

About the Creator

Matt Hall

I like telling stories, and creating ones for the no names.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.