Motivation logo

2021: The year of Positivity

Dance with your morning coffee and be kind to yourself!

By Gray CeePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Well, 2020 is finally behind us.

The year everyone wanted to be over has finally come. However, here in the UK very little has changed since March, in fact, we're back in a national lockdown. Like many, finding motivation and a sense of life has been tiresome at the best of times. I will admit, a few existential crises have been had, I didn't complete everything I wanted to do in 2020 and I beat myself up about it. Starting 2021 in yet another lockdown isn't perhaps the best start to the year, however, instead of dwelling on the things I cannot do I want to focus my energy on myself. It has been a tough year on every one that is why I believe 2021 is the year for positivity! Not only for yourself but towards others. Learn to love life now, even if you are in a standstill with your goals.

Now, I don't mean do nothing and wait until the world is back in some order (That's never gonna happen even post-pandemic, sorry!) It is very easy to feel like you are losing precious time right now. However, you can still make this year maybe the most memorable year of all! This is my new way of thinking about life.

Treat life as an assignment. The deadline you thought was so far away has suddenly sprung up in front of you and slapped you in the face. Now you only have a week, if not days to come up with something you deem worthy of submitting. You fumble your way through the next few days, praying you will at the very least scrape a passing grade at this point. You submit the piece of work, relieved to have submitted anything. However, niggling in the back of your mind is the regret for neglecting it whilst having all that time to complete it, you know you could have done better and you know you could have done more. A frequent error made by many (Speaking to my past self here too!). Don't do that with life, it's far too precious. Accomplish what you want to accomplish, maybe this year makes things tricky, so spend it working from within. Spend it growing as a person that is still a productive use of a year if not more so!

Right now it is harder than ever to achieve or do the things you planned to do. That is why I am taking this year for me. To work on me, to grow, to become someone I am proud of. I'm not talking classic resolutions like 'eat healthy and work out' and all the other unattainable resolutions that people try to do in the first week of January only in the following week to fall back into their usual habits and get disheartened. Humans are a creature of habit if you try to change your whole life in one week, you're gonna crumble.

Make goals, gradually building up to accomplishing them, make them attainable. If you are one these people that can make New Year resolutions, stick to them and completely change your life around, share your secrets I'd love to know! But for the people like myself, let's love the small steps, the journey and the process, it doesn't matter if someone gets there first. Do it for you and only you!

I'm currently starting this year in isolation with absolutely no idea what the year holds for me. What I know is my focus for this year is me. To grow as an individual, love myself and spread the positivity! Now, those are not easy goals, they require getting into the nitty-gritty, the underlying problems, you name it but loving yourself and growing as a person is being productive and that is how I am going to spend my year.

Dance with your morning coffee and be kind to yourself.

goals
1

About the Creator

Gray Cee

A young female and avid lover of writing. A place to put my thoughts and things im learning throughtout my 20s. Maybe it could help you too?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.