Motivation logo

2019 Is Here. What Now?!

Well, I gather there are mixed feelings about 2018 and many were happy to see the back of it. However, I'm a great believer in positive attribution. We achieved a lot, gained solidarity in the wake of atrocities and craziness.

By Hazel ButterfieldPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

2018 was interesting in so many ways for many of us. Fraught with worry over Brexit, moral panic over our own safety/sanity, FOMO and finances. Even deciding whether to go out and see the friends whose company you crave and yet needing to cuddle up on the sofa and have "downtime." Having that glass of wine to wind-down or gaining a booze-free day, fitting in a workout, answering your WhatsApp’s, counting your five a day, trawling through your emails (and realising GDPR was a bucket of nonsense), wracking your brain for a doable New Years resolution that doesn’t make you feel like a failure. Juggling everything.

I’m at breaking point. I was too busy to even have the time to rethink my priorities, to remind myself who I am and what I’m about. The noise got to be too much.

This is the year we need to start saying no. Please put yourself first and the ones that really matter most. Not the ones who don’t understand you and judge. Don’t waste your time, you’re a long time dead.

Remind yourself that social media is a game, a tool, entertainment and not reality. Do not get sucked in to the abyss, if you recognise it’s getting you down, cut down or regulate when you get too involved.

Take yourself less seriously, yet seriously put number one first. Your happiness starts with you. People can be a part of it, but you’re responsible for it. My 2018 may have been somewhat turbulent, but I'll focus on what I can do this year, not what I didn't achieve last year. I'm going to focus my energy where it matters, or at least aim to as much as I can. We waste so much time stressing about issues we can't change, worrying about the opinions of those that don't matter.

Create situations to look forward to, actively listen more, rest when you need to and find your calm. Even if what makes you calm is 63 espresso martinis and dancing on your kitchen worktops with your "team." Ahem.

New year's resolutions, we like to utilise the new year as a trigger to instill a new regime/mindset/goal, but the first of January is no day to be starting anything new. We're tired, skint, hungover and emotionally confused. Take your time and think about it, make an informed decision when it feels right—nobody tells us what day we need to make changes! There's also a better chance of succeeding if it’s on your terms!

“What if you simply devoted this year to loving yourself more?”

What will be your thing this year? Learn a new language, get strong, travel, build that bridge. So what if you fail, it's better than never knowing and what if you don't fail?

Read more, listen to more music. Get fresh air. Eat well. Be kind to those that deserve it (and even those that don't). Be who you are, not what others dictate of you. Make time for what makes you happy, it will ultimately give you more energy. You have to affect change and be the one that drives your happiness. Take control and be responsible for what happens to you. Learn to love yourself again.

Embrace your flaws, who wants to be perfect anyway? I know I’m a bit socially awkward and say daft things, I know I’m controlling and impatient. But I’ll always be there for my family/friends and "control" arranging what you need to make you feel happy and loved! I’m loyal and to those who know me, my awkward nonsense is quite bloody funny and can be entertaining! It’s just me.

Have an excellent 2019!

www.HazelButterfield.com

Follow me on Instagram @nuttybutty10 ❤️

goals
Like

About the Creator

Hazel Butterfield

I'm a Presenter @RiversideRadio @WomensRadioStn & Blogger - talking about food, music, fitness & randomness with a special love for #Books

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.