Motivation logo

20 Self Care Practices You Should Start Today To Eliminate Stress

Increase daily self care with these helpful tips and strategies.

By Silena Le BeauPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

Self-care is crucial for our emotional and mental well-being. Do you ever notice that you forget to take care of yourself?

It is important to maintain a healthy, flowing relationship with yourself as it produces positive feelings and boosts your self-confidence and self-esteem.

I know how it can be with the hustle and bustle in this day and age. Everything is happening and it's happening rather quickly from day to day.

Finding the time to take proper care of yourself with a fully loaded schedule can be hard. But if you don’t, it won’t be long before you’re battling exhaustion and operating in a mental fog where it’s hard to care about anything or anyone, even yourself and your needs.

Trust me, I know. I've been there myself!

A few years ago, I had a teacher assistant job in America, working a forty-hour week. I thoroughly enjoyed working with my students and colleagues. However, shortly after I realized that I had no life.

I was always focused on my goals, and I found that I rarely took care of myself. I decided to made a scary yet unusual choice because I felt like I was living to please others. So I quit my job and I decided to remove myself from the 9 to 5 life and work in freelance which enabled me to set my own hours and engagements and follow my dreams of becoming a successful entrepreneur.

As time went on, I began to take care of myself better and I finally understood who I was deep within and know what I needed not just to function, but to flourish.

" Almost everything will work again if you unplug it, for a few minutes even You." -Anne Lamott

Self-care is a continual process.

The best way to do this is to incorporate small self-care habits every day. Make the effort to regularly include in your life a little bit of love and attention for your own body, mind, and soul.

Self-care is the constant repetition of many little habits, which together make sure you’re living at your best emotionally, and even mentally.

It may be a harsh reminder that self-care isn’t something that you do once and scratch off the list.

Pick a few of the following ideas each week on the list below and be sure to include them in your life for the next four weeks and start a 30 day challenge. Save this list and keep it on hand to refer back to it in the future.

20 Self Care Practices

  1. Unplug for an hour. Switch off any electronic devices to airplane mode and free yourself from the constant notifications of social media.
  2. Add a small change to your diet for the week. Have an extra glass of water daily, or add a portion of veggies to each meal.
  3. Be selfish. Do one thing today just because it puts a smile on your face or makes you happy.
  4. Moments of relaxation: Even if you take just five minutes to close your eyes and take a few deep breaths, it can definitely help your stress level.
  5. Stretch out the kinks and knots. If you’re at home or work, you can always head to the bathroom to avoid strange looks.
  6. Jog or walk. Depending on your current physical health (for a few minutes). Or go up and down the stairs three times.
  7. Get to know you on an intimate level. Look lovingly and without judgment at yourself in your birthday suit. (Use a mirror to make sure you get to know and love all of you!)
  8. Treat your body. Pick something from your closet or buy something new and inexpensive that feels great next to your skin.
  9. Have a good laugh. Watch a couple of comedy movies that you enjoy. Or call a close friend that you haven't spoken to in a while.
  10. Be still. Sit amongst nature, take in the beauty around you and be quiet for a few minutes.
  11. Get at least twenty minutes of daylight, especially if you’re in a cold climate or season.
  12. Inhale a delightful scent. Try lavender or peppermint essential oil to suppress food cravings and boost mood and motivation.
  13. Get out of your comfort zone. Even if that's just talking to a stranger at the grocery store.
  14. Edit your social media lists. Delete and remove any negative people or accounts. Or you can simply just “mute” them without removing them completely.
  15. Re-evaluate who you're spending your time with. Steer clear of people who “drain” you whose negativity robs your energy.
  16. Have a self-date day. Spend an hour alone doing something that nourishes your soul (massage, reading, a hobby, visiting a museum or play music, etc.)
  17. Write your thoughts down. Take fifteen minutes to jot down anything that's bothering you. Without naming names. Then release it as you burn or trash the paper.
  18. Enjoy an at home spa. Have a long bath or shower, and open your senses with essential oils, or lounge in your bathrobe.
  19. Splurge a little. Buy a small luxury as a way of valuing yourself.
  20. Plan a holiday for the upcoming weekend. Tell others you’ll be away, turn off your phone and then do something new in your own town.

Get a jump on the "Sitewide" sale. Pamper yourself or a loved one with all natural, homemade luxury spa essentials.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Silena Le Beau

She expresses her gift of writing through each piece. She studied writing in college and has been inspiring people for 20 years. She gives back to the community & enriches them with enlightenment. Philanthropist, Empath and Nature lover.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.