Motivation logo

14 Daily Happiness Habits to Adopt Right Now

The biggest lie we are told is‘ Have someone make you happy. ’The truth is that happiness is something you create for yourself. Have someone to add to it.

By Sabin PaulPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

14 Daily Happiness Habits to Adopt Right Now
Photo by Drew Beamer on Unsplash

That’s what we all strive to do, right?

Happiness, I mean.

I thought happiness was about my outer world. If things were going well for me (in my job, social life, relationships, etc.), then I was happy. When things did not go well, which often did not happen in one place or another, I felt frustrated, angry, or defeated.

Later, I realized that long-term happiness does not depend on external factors. First and foremost, it is a skill that needs to be learned and developed.

In order to live your best life, you must realize that happiness does not happen to you — it happens because of you. That does not mean that if you do all the right things you will always be happy. No one feels happy all the time. It simply means that your choices affect how you feel, and when you make healthy decisions you will feel better than ever.

To help you build a happy life, I have included fourteen habits that you can use right now. Read them, meditate on them, and let them come in with you. Use this list to start building habits that will help you cultivate happiness, no matter where you are.

1. Look at the silver lining.

All the clouds are said to have a layer of silver. Sometimes it's hard to find, but in my experience, they're always there.

When one of my friends passed away a few years ago, I had a hard time finding a silver lining. Life seemed hopeless and cruel.

After a few months I decided to let go of all that frustration, anger and grief and make a difference in my life. So I quit my job and left for a year. What happened made me realize that life is short, and I wanted to benefit fully from it. That was a silver line for me.

2. Water your lawn.

It is very easy to compare them these days. Just by turning on the TV, turning on the social media, or engaging in conversation can fall into the trap of comparison. That is not the way to build a happy life. We do that by watering our grass, not by looking at our neighbors ’.

So, accept what other people have and use that as an inspiration to get where you want to go. Keep your eyes on your path and build, build, and take care of what you want most.

3. Move the phone away from the bedroom.

For many people, the last thing they see before going to bed is their phones. And maybe the first thing they see when they wake up. (Confession: I am guilty as I am charged in this case.)

By checking your phone early in the morning you allow other people, apps, and email notifications to control how you feel. You start the day off instead of deciding for yourself where to focus.

Get an alarm that isn't your phone (or at least put it in flight mode). Then create a short sleep and morning routine that makes you feel good. I like to spend a few minutes thinking, meditating, or appreciating fixing my attention.

4. Set reminders to feel good on your phone.

Oh, you should do this right now! Go to your phone calendar and set one or two reminders for you every day. At 9am every morning I get a “Enough” notification to remind myself that no matter how I fight or what other people think or say, I am enough!

At 1 p.m. another confirmation comes out “I deserve the best and I always get it.” This always makes my heart smile because it reinforces my worth and forces me to think about how my current circumstances could benefit me.

Manage your future well by setting at least one reminder that feels good-daily. It will help you to change course during the day, if necessary.

5. Take a nature trip.

I have just seen the power of connecting with nature. This is a place to reconnect and help yourself.

Fact: Nature is said to have a frequency pulsation of 7.83 hertz on average (Schumann resonance).

This frequency (7.83 hertz) is also called the central brain alpha frequency. The alpha state is when we feel relaxed and calm. A good hero, isn’t it? Therefore, make it a practice to daily walk with nature and adapt to your happier and more relaxed nature.

6. Take 100 percent responsibility.

This always changes my game. I usually avoid responsibility at first (which is very easy to blame, criticize, or excuse, right?) But you can’t change the situation if you don’t start by taking 100 percent responsibility for it.

Look for any area in your life that you are not completely satisfied with (your finances, health, work, romance, social, etc.). After that decide to take full responsibility for your transformation. It may be true that someone else should be blamed for a situation, but the only way to change things is to take responsibility for what you do.

7. Stop complaining.

Oh, it's so easy to complain. Looking at what is not working or what other people are doing is wrong and criticizing and dismissing. But that doesn't solve problems.

If you don't like something, change it. If you can't change it, your only option is to change your attitude about it. The next time you feel like complaining, ask yourself why you can be thankful in this situation. For example, if a bus driver insulted you on the way to work, you might choose to focus on and appreciate the fact that you can take the bus to work.

8. Convey confidence about your body.

Our body reflects how we feel. If you are nervous and anxious, you can be sure that your body will show that. You can hold your eyes and look, speak quietly, or hold a position that shows a lack of confidence.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.