Motivation logo

10 Things to Bring You Joy

:)

By Ashlee :)Published 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

Sometimes you feel a little down and that's alright. Most of the time when I feel a little less happy than I'd like it's because I'm bored and not being productive. If you can't seem to find something that really truly entertains you and makes you feel happy and good then this list is for you. These are just some options of things to do that can bring you a little joy or inspiration for something else you could do.

1. Clean and reorganize your room.

This is one of my favorite things to do when I feel like I need something to do. Maybe your room is a little messy or it could just use a new look. The feeling you get after fixing up your room is one of pure bliss. It will make you feel centered and put together once you have a nice fresh room. You'll surely find something interesting you forgot about and some good memories that will brighten your day.

2. Create a list of things that make you happy.

I have started this as a page in my bullet journal and find it lifts my mood both while I am adding to it and when I look back at it later. I think of things that make me happy, or bring me joy, and create a list of them with illustrations along side. Some things on my list are stars, fuzzy socks, dogs and tea. The great thing about this one is that the list can grow and you can look back at it later to make you happier all over again.

3. Bake something.

Whenever I'm bored I always look to Pinterest to see what delicious thing I could make. Baking is a very relaxing way to busy yourself and not to mention delicious. It is very fun to try new things and see if you can find a new favorite treat. I usually give away my baked goods and it's a perfect way to brighten someone else's day as well as your own.

4. Write a letter.

Handwriting a letter is an art that has been lost because it so easy to just text someone to wish them a better day. You could write a letter to friend you haven't seen in a while or to a relative or even to your future self to open in a year or more. Writing and mailing a letter is something that can make you feel accomplished, but also give you the joy of reconnecting with someone.

5. Start a journal.

Journaling is the perfect to collect your thoughts and feel better about yourself. I journal every day and have found that it has drastically helped my mental health because I am able to put down all my thoughts about the day and let them rest on the page instead of causing trouble in my mind. I also have a gratitude journal where I write something I am grateful for that day. It is very easy to let the things that seem small, like a roof over our heads, or food on the table, to go unnoticed. Starting a journal is something that can make you a better you.

6. Cuddle some animals.

Maybe you have your own furry friend that you could love on, or you could visit a pet store. You could even start to volunteer at a local animal shelter and get a consistent animal fix. It has been proven that cuddling animals releases positive chemicals in the brain, so take time to enjoy an animal.

7. Read a book.

Mae your mind of good use and read a nice book. Maybe you can re-read an old favorite or visit the library and find a new favorite. Let yourself escape into another world and expand your mind at the same time. Get cozy with a warm beverage, blanket and get to reading.

8. Go outside.

Take a few minutes to go enjoy nature. Even if the weather isn't the greatest, go outside and breath in some fresh air. Maybe splash in a couple puddles or basket in the warm sunlight. Find some beautiful leaves that have recently fallen or find a fresh flower. Being outside is a sure way to lift your mood, even if just a little amount.

9. Forgive or thank someone.

Maybe you have been holding a grudge against someone, or someone recently hurt their feelings. Giving out forgiveness is a way to make yourself feel just that much lighter. Forgive someone of something and forget about it, it will lighten the load on your mind. Or maybe someone has recently done something very nice for you, or just did a small thing that made your day better. Be sure to thank someone and appreciate what they do for.

10. Treat yourself.

Take a bath. Do a face mask. Paint your nails. Get a new article of clothing. Cut your hair. Get your eyebrows done. Whatever you like to do to make yourself feel special or give yourself a break, do it. Take time to de-stress, and make yourself feel whole again.

There are so many things that you could do to make your day more happy and productive. It might take a little self searching to find something that you can consistently use to lift your mood. There are so many things in this world to be happy about, make every effort you can to adjust your focus to those and you will see your mood improve and be more consistent.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Ashlee :)

I'm interested in too many things. Think of this as my brain dump.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.