Motivation logo

10 Self-Help Books that Actually Changed My Life

Most life-changing self-help books

By Muhiuddin AlamPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
10 Self-Help Books that Actually Changed My Life
Photo by Jared Rice on Unsplash

Today we are talking about 10 Self-Help Books that Actually Changed My Life. Books are the best containers for information and they've changed my mindset for the better. I compiled all my favorite self-development books into one article and separated them into 4 categories: Productivity, Socializing, Confidence, and Awakening.

Transforming my mind one book at a time. that helped transform my mindset, each one of these books has improved the quality of my life and I hope that they change your life too.

Probably have tons of self-help books in your home. While many of the books are well written and have great advice, one skill that many self-help books lack is originality.

A lot of the most successful self-help books of all time have one thing in common: they were written by people who really knew what they were talking about. They made a point to be original and they stuck to their own advice and beliefs.

Most life-changing self-help books are a lot like a textbook. They tell you what you should do, but don't really go into detail about why you should do it, or how to do it.

A self-help book is a type of book that is intended to be a source of practical advice and guidance. They are written for people who have a need or want to improve their lives.

However, self-help books can be very beneficial and helpful if applied correctly.

Hey everyone welcome back to the blog. today I will be going over every single book that transformed my mindset for the better so let's get cracking. so the first category I want to tackle is productivity.

Here are my top ten self-development books that changed my mindset for the better.

10 Best Must-Read Self-Help and Personal Development Books to Read in 2021

Table Of Contents

1. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People

2. Atomic Habits 

3. How to win Friends & Influence People 

4. Rising Strong 

5. What I Know For Sure 

6. The Mastery of Love 

7. Breaking Free from Emotional Eating 

8. The Untethered Soul 

9. A New Earth 

10. How to Change Your Mind

1. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People

The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: 30th Anniversary Edition by Stephen R. Covey

Here I have the seven habits of highly effective people by Stephen covey. This is a book that I have been shoving down people's throats since 2017. this has changed my life in such a positive way my boss's bible is seven habits of highly effective people.

I believe this book goes beyond efficiency and productivity, it genuinely inspired me to be a better and more expanded version of myself. so I love this quote that he highlighted by Aristotle we are what we repeatedly do excellence then is not an act but a habit, yes I think for so long.

I thought that excellence was only reserved for the elite or insanely gifted but this reminds me that excellence is available to anyone that is willing to put in the work every single day you become what you repeat and off the jump, the seven habits are here:

  • Be Proactive
  • Begin with the end in mind
  • Put first things first
  • Think win-win
  • Seek first to understand then to be understood
  • Synergize
  • Sharpen the saw

I'm not gonna expand on them because that could be a whole separate article and also it just hits different when you're reading it and you're applying your own examples. it is such a transformative book and I could not recommend it enough so please go check it out.

2. Atomic Habits

Atomic Habits: An Easy & Proven Way to Build Good Habits & Break Bad Ones by James Clear

Moving on to book number two we have atomic habits by James clear. I think that this book is a really great follow-up to seven habits. I feel like they stack really well on top of each other James clear.

Describes a habit as a routine or behavior that happens so regularly that it occurs automatically like the quality of your life depends on the quality of your habits. so let's say you start by doing something extremely small for yourself every single day.

Maybe it's like going on a walk 15/20 minutes a day, during that day it doesn't seem like a big deal. like it's probably improving your life maybe one percent but what happens when you keep doing that every single day, for a month, a year, two years. this my friends are the compound effect time that magnifies your results and if you do something so small every single day even though it's just a drop in the bucket.

If you zoom out you'll see, we just filled up a gallon baby and I feel like with self-improvement and productivity. these are things that require delayed gratification. They don't happen overnight success doesn't happen overnight, it requires patience and time and putting in the work every single day.

So he breaks down how to create a good habit in four ways, which is make it obvious, make it easy, make it attractive, and make it satisfying again this will make a lot more sense once you read it so just read it.

3. How to win Friends & Influence People

How to win Friends & Influence People by Dale Carnegie

So now let's tackle socializing, I would say that I am a people person but it took me years and years to get me to this social person that I am today.

I'm naturally quite introverted all the social skills that I've learned have been taught and learned and I would say that the biggest book that gave me a jump start to refining my social skills was this one it's called how to win friends and influence people by Dale Carnegie.

I know it's not the sexiest name but let me tell you this is the best book that will teach you how to communicate with others, how to have fulfilling relationships with other people.

this book is now more important than ever it's sad to say that socializing is a dying art even though we are the most connected digitally. I would say emotionally we're just not very connected with each other and it's so sad to see because we are naturally like social beings you know.

unfortunately, this culture is all about me-me-me, show-show-show, and not about curiosity and genuine interest. I urge you to check out this book. if you want to hone in on your social skills I feel like reading this book gave me the confidence to be able to talk to whoever I want to.

4. Rising Strong

Rising Strong: How the Ability to Reset Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead by Brené Brown

So this category is confidence and self-love, so this book is called 'rising strong' by Bréne Brown. I would say that her research on vulnerability and shame has really given me the courage to be proud of my work and to be proud to be me and to be okay with being uncomfortable without being vulnerable you are not growing you gotta be outside your comfort zone in order to expand and I would say that this book really gave me the confidence to open up especially with this blog.

opening up and zooming in at the ugly parts of your life that you're not proud of is absolutely terrifying like people mostly just kind of fast forward to the part where like they rose above it and they conquered but I think it's important to highlight both.

If you are trying to share your experience this book also gave me the confidence to shrug off haters and trolls a lot easier, I think in the past when I would get a negative comment it would really sink down and I would see it as truth but Bréne Brown always shares this quote by Theodore Roosevelt.

I'll leave it here because it's quite long it talks about how criticizing is really cheap, it's really easy. if you are not in the arena if you are not creating and trying and trying to do the same thing then quite frankly your opinion doesn't really matter. it's really giving me the confidence to shrug things off a lot easier and uh it's giving me a thicker skin.

5. What I Know For Sure

What I Know For Sure by Oprah Winfrey

My next book is by someone who needs no introduction Oprah yes the queen herself. I absolutely loved her book what I know for sure this is an accumulation of all her life lessons in one book.

It's like a hug in your soul like it's incredibly inspiring because she's lived such a rich life with just soaring highs and devastating lows she has gained so much wisdom and reading this book always makes me feel so good inside if there is one person on earth that I would like to meet it is her just putting it out there.

6. The Mastery of Love

The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship: A Toltec Wisdom Book by Don Miguel Ruiz

My next book is the mastery of love by Don Miguel Ruiz. This book taught me how to recognize the old emotional wounds that I've been carrying in the past and how to address them he condenses the foundation of love into one concept which is to love yourself.

I feel like this is a concept that's thrown in our faces all the time like self-love take a bath do a mask but it's not a quick band-aid-like that at all, yes those do help sometimes but it's not gonna be the antidote for you to love yourself.

Reading this book helped me open my eyes to how much I was focusing on these materialistic and superficial flaws that were weighing me down when in reality I am worthy just as I am right now and if you can accept yourself as you are right now then you can truly have a fulfilling relationship with anyone.

Continue Reading…

self help
Like

About the Creator

Muhiuddin Alam

I'm Muhiuddin Alam, a blogger and content writer. Explore book recommendations and reviews of fiction, novels, and nonfiction on your trusted site ReadingAndThinking.com. & Geek Book Reviews.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.