Marriage logo

I Proposed to Him

and he said YES

By Katie KieslingPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
I Proposed to Him
Photo by Samantha Gades on Unsplash

When you get engaged, one of the first questions you're asked is "How did he propose?"

Well ... I proposed to HIM. And so far, I've been met with a lot of positive feedback about that, so thank you World for being open-minded and supportive.

Anyways, you're here for the story, right? To be honest, I don't think I've shared the full story with anyone yet ... so here it is:

February 9th 2022, I was having a bad anxiety night - a lot of stuff came up, a lot of different thoughts were happening, a lot of negative energy in the air. I knew I didn't want to spend the whole night crying though - I'm grateful I recognized it and was able to refocus my mind.

I looked around my office and I saw two possible projects. The first was a Valentine's Day card I hadn't written in yet. The second was a gift I bought for my boyfriend (now fiancé), J - a jar with cut-out hearts to write cute sayings on. I started with the jar. And as I made my way through the jar - following the prompts and smiling as I wrote my answers - I reminded myself how incredible J is, how lucky I am. The world seemed really bleak that night, but by focusing on my love for J, it was like I was constantly telling myself "you have support", "you are not alone", "you will get through this".

When I finished the jar, I started writing in the card. I'm notorious for writing a full novel in every one of J's cards (or a letter to stick into a card), so I fill the two sides of the card ... and then end with "Will you marry me?" I don't want to say it was on a whim, but I certainly hadn't been planning this for months. I'm a bit traditional - I had wanted J to ask me. We were coming up on three years together, and I was worried it would be five or ten before he finally asked ... but at this moment, I thought "What if I try asking now?"

After about two hours in my office, I come out with the jar and another one of his presents, a stuffed Panda Bear. I chose not to give J the card at that moment because I wanted him to read it on a more positive night (plus I knew I had written it out in a highly emotional state - I wanted to make sure I was still serious about what I said when I gave it to him).

February 10th 2022, we had to have a big conversation, which resulted in us making the decision to buy a house together. It was a big grown-up conversation, and after some cuddles I got up from the couch, grabbed the card, and handed it to him. I think he asked if he had to read it now (since he could see it was a Valentine's Day card), and I said something along the lines of "Yes, before I lose my nerve".

He read it, and when he got to the end his response was (in the most adorable way) "You're proposing to me?" ... I just looked at him and nodded.

I was going to be okay with a no. I knew J loved me, but maybe he wouldn't have been ready yet, or maybe he'd want to propose to me instead ... but I still wanted to ask and see what happened.

What happened was, J kissed me ... and kissed me ... and it was probably a solid minute or two before I finally came up for air and said "I don't even know what your answer is, but I love this response". He replied with "Of course I'll marry you!" ... and I cried as he kissed me some more. All of the stress from the night before, although not gone completely, just seemed to melt away in that moment.

proposal
Like

About the Creator

Katie Kiesling

* 29, she/her, Canadian

* Reader, writer, lover of language

* Board game enthusiast, and wannabe board game designer

* Fiancée currently, Wife in May 2023

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.