Longevity logo

Yoga for balance and healing | Improve your mental health

Video: 15 minutes of yoga at home.

By Yoga Prema GaiaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Yoga for balance and healing | Improve your mental health

15 minutes of yoga at home. In this yoga class, you will increase your physical and mental balance, while also working on strength and flexibility. As we know, yoga is union and this will benefit us a lot during the coronavirus, when we may feel depression, anxiety, frustration, anger or sadness. Because while you work the body with this yoga sequence, you will also work on your mind. We increase peace and happiness with yoga. All you have to do is keep the focus.

The yoga session is for beginners and advanced, you can always modify the postures that seem too difficult.

It is a form of yoga to lose weight, because you reduce stress and work on your strength.

Yoga for strength and balance to lose weight and anxiety. Attracts mental and physical health and will improve your posture over time.

My mission on Earth

Finding peace in daily life is a constant struggle, but we can try to become more conscious. I try to live in the moment and I have found that we are all here to heal. Yoga helps you to develop this focus, along with meditation or an activity that makes you forget everything else but the present activity.

We need to find our way back to the real mission in this life: Self-development, becoming aware and developing self-love (not to be confused with egomania!). Self-love can then be transferred to other beings. I try to grow constantly, and every day brings me closer to inner peace. Yoga helps me tremendously with this inner growth. At the same time I try to improve life for other beings as well. Especially animals activate my unconditional love. I still have to work on feeling the same amount of love for my fellow human beings. It is difficult to understand cruelty, ignorance and indifference (the Bible says in Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount ‘blessed are the ignorant, for they know not what they do’). But I am getting better and better at recognizing the true cause behind bad actions: our suffering.

I am a combination of faith, creativity, aspiration, and growth, and yet I still feel like a child. A child of Mother Earth, Gaia, which loves us unconditionally, Prema. Yoga helps me find my way back to awareness and unifies me with myself and my surroundings. Yoga in itself means “unification”, it is just a tool, but a very good one at that.

My yoga journey

I started Yoga in university 10 years ago but I used it merely as a fitness tool and I did soon give it up. Just a few years back I started to understand the connection between physical exercise and mind in Yoga. When I started doing Yoga again I felt better after each class and that was enough to keep me coming back to classes. The feeling of peace, balance and inner strength made me an instant addict to Yoga.

I am very intuitive and follow my inner voice. This inner voice soon pushed me to register for a Yoga teacher training in India, which I have done in 2019 for 2 months, specializing in Hatha Yoga, Ashtanga, Vinyasa Yoga and Yin Yoga. My time in India has been amazing and I learned so much more about Yoga and the Yogic philosophy than I imagined I would. Having understood the connection between body, mind and spirit and I am convinced that Yoga can help our struggling society along with psychology.

I practice 6 days a week and give Yoga classes in different places. I don´t own a Yoga studio and I have no aspirations of opening one. Instead I give Yoga classes on the beach, in gardens, in house complexes, in companies or at home. If you want to practice Yoga, I can come to you.

Yoga and mental disorder

During my 29 years of life I have not yet met a completely sane person. We all struggle with something internally and have trouble sharing and even finding the words to explain our inner world. Yoga gives us the possibility to work on our mind, but using the outer layer, the body to heal. People that have so-called “incurable” mental disorders have been seen to improve by practicing yoga. Psychosis is very difficult to treat because the patients are not in touch with themselves, but they don´t have to be, to do yoga. Yoga helps to reconnect with yourself and therefore heals you. Indian gurus told me that Yoga cured schizophrenia and other serious mental disorders and while I cannot confirm that I can see the possibility of that happening.

I have struggled with anxiety all my life. Yoga has helped me with my anxiety and helps me to clear my head from the frequent brain fog I have and Yoga connects me with my true Self. If you suffer from some form of mental imbalance, Yoga surely can help you.

mental health
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.