Longevity logo

Where Do They Want to Go?

What I Didn't Know About RLS

By Kaye M.Published 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I started to get these weird sensations in my legs and suddenly I'll have to flail them around so that it'll stop. Okay, well, maybe not flail (that's what I used to do), but more like move them enough so that the sensations would cease. These sensations are so very different from any other sensations, so I figured it may be a bit helpful to write out and share some of my coping skills for Restless Legs Syndrome (RLS). While I am at it, why not share what I have learned?

1) It's not exactly a sleep disorder; though considered to be, it's actually a neurological movement disorder. It may disrupt sleep, and so, that is why it is considered to also be a sleep disorder. You'd hear the term "night walkers" used to describe such RLS sufferers sometimes. In fact, there are so many names for such a syndrome that you would almost find it common, but it's not commonly diagnosed. That would be because it went so unknown for so long. Doctors would often misdiagnose or attribute this condition to some other health issues. Doctors, still, rarely ask about your sleep when you go in for a regular check up. That's why you have to bring it up yourself if you have questions. It was lesser known back in 1994, but is much more known in this decade.

2) There is also another disorder known as Periodic Limb Movement Syndrome, which describes a series of involuntary muscle movements, more commonly in the legs, and can occur while the patient is asleep rather than awake. PLMS, or PLMD, should not be confused with RLS or RLD. PLMS comes with other sleep disorders as well, as it's not just by itself sometimes.

3) Back in 2006, there wasn't much pointing to what could cause it, and even further back in 1944, there were very few symptoms that could only be linked to PLMS and RLS. These days, scientists have linked it to chronic disease, diabetes, iron deficiency, and the use of anti-depressants sometimes. Not to mention pregnancy as well. Others would be the use of alcohol and strangely enough sleep deprivation. Also, as of right now, they don't seem to have a way to diagnose RLS officially, but they would ask you to do some other tests in order to make sure it isn't any other type of disease.

Anyone could sit here and write out what may help, but I am going to be the one to sit here and tell you what helps me. I take walks periodically throughout the day. I also do the bicycle legs in bed. Other times, I redirect and squeeze my loved one's hands. I look at him, take his hand, and squeeze it. It works temporarily. I also take Restful Legs by Hyland's. It's used to temporarily relieve the itching, crawling, and tingling sensation in legs; with that, it's also supposed to help decrease the urge to move them. However, if my condition gets worse, this won't help anymore. When that happens, I'll know.

Which brings me to number 4) It's not just the legs. They say that the syndrome/disease starts in the legs and can move to the abdomen, back, neck, and the face. That's when the condition worsens. The worse the condition gets, some sufferers may actually experience symptoms right when they wake up.

If you're interested in some of the sources I have acquired this information from, they're in the list below:

Restless Legs Syndrome, Coping with Your Sleepless Nights. Mark J. Buchfuhrer, MD, Wayne A. Hening, MD, PHD, and Clete A. Kushida, MD, PhD. Book. 2007.

Restless Legs Syndrome, Relief and Hope for Sleepless Victims of a Hidden Epidemic. Robert H. Yoakum. Book. 2006.

health
Like

About the Creator

Kaye M.

I struggle a lot, so I write a lot. When I'm not writing, I'm hanging out with my kitten, Skips, researching Mental Health Disorders, crafting great cups of coffee, and sipping wine.

Twitter: @lilkitty127

Insta: @lilkittymew

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.