Longevity logo

What I've Learned About Reading Cards

spoiler: it's more simple and complex than I realized

By Katie KieslingPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
What I've Learned About Reading Cards
Photo by Viva Luna Studios on Unsplash

I bought my first oracle card decks a couple years ago ... and didn't use them.

I was scared, and I felt dumb - I had no idea what I was doing! The artwork just looked pretty, and all the coaches I knew were using them ... and I knew they were sacred, and therefore wanted to use them right.

WELL, earlier this month I treated myself and finally enrolled in a Card Reading certification course I've had my eye on for awhile.

I. Am. In. LOVE!

Card reading is fun, but more importantly it is extremely eye-opening. I'm someone who likes to journal, or at least take time out of my day to sit in self-reflection, as part of my personal growth practice. Card reading has now become an extension of my personal growth practice - I keep track of the cards I've pulled for myself, and I sit and reflect on the cards for a moment (the imagery, the placement in the spread) before consulting the guidebook.

I don't want to say it's easy, but I also don't find it as complex as I once believed it to be. I'm only halfway through my course, but I felt called today to share some of my new wisdom, for anyone who's new or wants to learn.

It's Okay to Use the Guidebook

I thought it would be cheating, or I couldn't be a real Card Reader if I relied on the guidebook. When you're starting out though, it's encouraged! Unless you're the creator of the deck, you're not expected to know all the meanings or potential interpretations. With oracle cards especially, given the wide variety of decks and themes out there, it can take time to learn about any one deck.

Don't Be Afraid to Trust Your Intuition

A bit contradictory to my first point, but I am someone who suppressed her natural intuition for over two decades, believing I had to conform to particular societal beliefs imposed upon by family and peers. This is why I take a moment to look at the cards FIRST, before consulting the guidebook - I recognize that I need to practice in order to strengthen my intuition (and for the most part, the guidebook has been validating to my initial interpretations!).

Have Many Decks, But Use Few

Deck collecting is okay ... in fact, it seems to be the norm - once you buy one, you end up with fifty. My collection is up to a dozen now, and I've been playing with a new one every day to get a feel for each. I'm learning what kinds of questions or situations I'd like to use each deck - one seems perfect for "What direction is my life headed?" questions, and another I know I'll only be using for New Moon rituals. I don't know if what I'm doing is best practice - it seems to be advised to get familiar with one deck at a time, so as you can make clear readings without using the guidebook too often. As I mentioned though, having multiple decks is okay - just know you'll probably develop favourites, or ones that only have one purpose.

Ritual is Personal

The course I'm working through has about nine different instructors - that's nine unique perspectives on one subject. I've heard one instructor say one thing, and another contradict it in the next video. The reason for multiple instructors is because card reading and the rituals around card reading are so personal, it's important to hear these multiple perspectives. So far, I don't agree with just one instructor - I loved what one instructor said about three-card spreads, but didn't resonate with their rituals. I've used the deck of another instructor, but am unsure if I love all of their spreads and may try to incorporate spreads from other decks. By listening to different ideas, I am open to trying new things but also recognizing what will and won't work for me. There is no right or wrong way - only YOUR way, whatever you decide that looks like.

There are Right and Wrong Questions

This is actually something I learned from my Life Coach training, but it's validating to hear from multiple sources. Yes/No questions are generally frowned upon in card readings, as are questions which are framed negatively - for example, "Should I get a divorce?" would be better asked as "What can I expect by staying in my marriage?" during a card reading. Open-ended questions bring the most enlightening answers.

Overall ...

When I read cards, I feel myself connecting to the universe, and my body feels light and awake! It's not a 1-minute practice - to get the most out of the experience, I take deep breaths, I take my time shuffling, I consider the question carefully, I consider the deck and spread carefully, I quietly reflect on each card pulled for a few moments, and I read the guidebook a couple times over. This has become a daily practice for myself, and I can't wait to start reading for others!

spirituality
Like

About the Creator

Katie Kiesling

* 29, she/her, Canadian

* Reader, writer, lover of language

* Board game enthusiast, and wannabe board game designer

* Fiancée currently, Wife in May 2023

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.