Longevity logo

We all need a answer!

In the mist of darkness we must look for the light!

By Debra OwensPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
We all need a answer!
Photo by Atoms on Unsplash

So in the mist of this Covid Pandemic we are all facing challenging times. Our education and knowledge of understanding this virus is the only thing that seems to be getting us through. I personally have not lost anyone to this virus, however with the millions of people that have , I can only imagine your heartache. My heart goes out too you!

I worry about our future generations. How is this pandemic going to effect their futures? They have been introduced to a new and uneasy world. My childhood was filled with fun and adventure. Being a baby boomer myself, and having 9 other siblings, life was simple. We could play outside without worrying about being snatched up by a stranger. Go "snipe" hunting in the woods. Catching a fictional bird with a paper sack and banging utensils together. The noise supposedly attracted them. LOL Really? Yea I fell for it.

I did however realize that a snipe is a real bird. Just not in my part of the US.

Who would of known! I was 10 years old and had some very mischievous and adventurous brothers. I got lost in the woods with my dog Spunky by my side. I was gone for three days and when I finally found a house, I was 22 miles from from my home. They had been searching for me! When I knocked on the door the woman that opened it knew exactly who I was. She had seen me missing on the news so she called the police department, she fed me and Spunky, and I was safe. I will NEVER forget her! She saved us!

Unfortunately my brothers got the wrath as well as I. We never went "snipe" hunting again. That was the worse spanking of my life! Just my dad's way of handling things!

Also at that time we were able to say the National Anthem in school. We had sleep overs and slumber parties. we cruised main street. We had our own "lovers lane". Ours was "Scenic Drive" The world was a much safer place than it is now.

So now let me introduce you too our new enemy named COVID-19! A invisible enemy that has killed millions around the world. There is no judgement on who or where your from. It does not discriminate on race or sexuality. Age does not matter, although health of the individual does.

It prefers people with low immune systems. People with existing conditions. For those that have experienced this virus and won, I commend you for your fight as I honestly do not think anyone is safe.

So now getting back to my topic. How do we explain this virus to our children. Heck, we have those among us that do not even believe this virus is real! How do we explain the loss of our loved ones, and why they can no longer attend classes with their friends and peers? Why they have to wear masks where ever they go, and why their mommies and daddies are so stressed out. Life as they know it has changed drastically! I could not have grasped this at 10 yrs old, could you?

I myself have said "why"? Why is this happening? Are we being tested or have we created a mass production of death by experimenting with virus strains that we have no business messing with. We believe in science and cures, we have have made progress by researching. But where do we draw the line? Using vaccines that have not been able to be tested for long term effects is so risky.

Yet we have to do something! Are we opening up ourselves for more devastation in the future? I hope my Grandson and future generations grow to understand how precious and delicate life truly is. I hope we all learn from the "year"2020 or "years" of the "Covid-19" pandemic. We have made history and unfortunately it is not a good entry.

Thank you for reading,

Debra Owens

health
Like

About the Creator

Debra Owens

I am me! One of a kind just like you! A individual that has a lifetime of great and bad memories. I cannot be duplicated nor can you! Individuality is a blessing! Grasp it, appreciate it, love it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.