Longevity logo

Vaccine Diary (Day 4)

Fourth day after injection.

By Angela DerschaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
Vaccine Diary (Day 4)
Photo by Kaja Reichardt on Unsplash

Dear Diary,

It's me again, writing as per usual about my wacky experiences with the first shot of my covid-19 vaccine series. I wanted to start with a disclaimer about this journal because some folks that have read it believe that it's a fake account of symptoms meant to cause fear and discord amongst my fellow humans. Honestly, I don't see a motive behind keeping a detailed report of what is essentially the flu, but not everyone has common sense. I'm here to set the record straight: this is real, I have a vaccine card picture to prove my immunization, I had covid-19 back in February, which I recovered from reasonably well, so I know what I'm talking about. I have experienced some crazy flu symptoms from the shot, even if only moderate ones.

With that being said, I want to name off the symptoms that have disappeared and will most likely not return anytime soon:

1 Body aches

They showed up out of nowhere and disappeared without a trace. It was bizarre; one day, the aches just stopped, and my body felt a little stronger, sort of? It could be a placebo effect for all I know. Either way, I'm grateful to not be in constant pain and to receive no relief from it with medication. I can sleep without being in too much discomfort at least. Moving on:

2. Fever

The fever was on and off for a few days and then were replaced with severe body chills, which sucked bad, but I dealt with them. The fever was carefully monitored every day before going to bed and once I get up. I took ibuprofen and aspiring when it got too intense. Otherwise, I used cold rags, cold compress, and had none stop fans on me. I'm not a baked potato anymore! Next up:

3 Headaches... Sort of

They became more tolerable I guess is more accurate than they just disappeared. Some light sensitivity remains, but overall it's much better. I take occasional Tylenol if it's too much, but try not to rely on it too much because I don't want to develop an intolerance for the medicine. If that happens, it won't help me anymore; it would be like eating bitter candy. Anyways, moving on with the list:

4. Nausea and upset stomach

With the exception of a bit of sickness here and there, I have no more vomiting or severe nausea. I don't have to take tums or pepcids for discomfort anymore. It's pretty relaxing, to be honest. I'm still not sure why a shot has given me so much difficulty! Well, moving on:

5. Chills

The chills are gone, and hopefully for good. I don't have to wear sweat clothes in the middle of spring anymore! I'm so happy. I can enjoy a cold drink without freezing myself to death; I can take a warm shower for relaxation instead of keeping myself from having hypothermia. Trust me; it was the worst possible thing to experience while sick as a dog from a dumb shot.

For the time being, that's all I have to say on the subject. I believe my next entry should be my last for the observation period, but it will depend on how I feel, if any symptoms come back, etc. I will keep you guys posted on what's going on more in-depth on my Facebook posts, Twitter, or even though one of these great and informative journal pieces! Speaking of which, if you guys enjoyed this format and would like me to keep a journal of other things, or maybe a subject of your choosing, whatever fits together better.

Until next time, be safe.

If you like what you read, please leave a heart for support. If you're feeling generous, a tip is appreciated but not necessary.

health
5

About the Creator

Angela Derscha

Twitter @angied7592. Long time lover of literature. Obsessed with adorable animals and coffee I spend my days playing video games with my brother and fiancee. I got a medium account too https://angeladerscha.medium.com/ check it out.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.