Longevity logo

The Woman Who Saved my Life

International Women's History Month

By Harmony KentPublished about a year ago 4 min read
7
Sharon Salzberg: An incredibly special woman!

Who inspires you in history, and why?

As International Women’s History Month approached, Christy Birmingham-Reyes—an inspirational woman herself—reached out and asked me if I’d be interested in answering this question.

Immediately, one person came to mind … a lady whose experience and only published book (at the time) saved my life and changed my world. So, of course, I jumped at the opportunity to share her with you.

Sharon Salzberg, an acclaimed Buddhist meditation teacher and spiritual leader, has touched the lives of countless people around the world, not least of all mine.

In 1999, at one of my most vulnerable times, and when I felt at my lowest ever, a colleague recommended a read to me … A Heart as Wide as the World.

Salzberg’s first published book, its message set me on a path which made me the person I am today. Her words influenced me so much that I ordained as a Zen Buddhist Monk and lived the next 13 years in a Buddhist Temple, where I devoted my life to meditation and learnt how to face my demons and continue to work to become the best person I know how to be. I found a level of confidence, peace, and contentment I don’t believe I would have found otherwise.

A rather young me as a fairly new novice monk ... we won't mention how long ago this picture was taken! 😉

Sharon's book offers a personal and profound exploration of the power of loving-kindness and how we can use it to cultivate a compassionate and connected existence. Her words helped me recognise my capacity to open up to love and connection and experience the peace and joy which comes with such openness. More importantly, it taught me about taking responsibility for my life instead of blaming a ‘cruel world’.

By Saif71.com on Unsplash

Although, by 1999, Salzberg had been a Buddhist practitioner and teacher for 25 years, I’d never heard of her or even of Buddhism. Oh boy, did I have a lot to learn!

The opening paragraph in the book’s introduction seemed as though it had reached inside me and grasped the core of my being and existence:

‘My own life at that time was characterised largely by fear and confusion. I felt separate from other people and from the world around me, and even oddly disconnected from my own experience. The world I experienced was sharply dualistic: self and other, us and them. This view increased my fear, which of course also increased my suffering.’

Born in Brooklyn, New York, Salzberg grew up in a Jewish family. From a young age, Eastern spiritual practices attracted her, and at the age of 19, she set out for India and Nepal to discover more about Buddhism and its teachings. What a brave thing to do at that age and in that era! During her travels, she encountered the Burmese meditation master, Dipa Ma, who became her mentor and encouraged her to pursue a lifelong practice of meditation.

Sharon Salzberg

Upon returning to the United States, Salzberg taught meditation and, in 1974, co-founded the Insight Meditation Society (IMS) with Joseph Goldstein and Jack Kornfield. They established this as a place for people to practice and study mindfulness-based meditation. Through IMS, Salzberg has trained thousands of students and teachers.

In addition to the IMS, and A Heart as Wide as the World, Salzberg has written several best-selling books, including Lovingkindness: The Revolutionary Art of Happiness, and Real Happiness: The Power of Meditation. Salzberg has also worked to study the effects of meditation on mental health and as a method to treat anxiety, depression, and other mental health issues.

Her life emphasizes the importance of self-compassion and kindness. Salzberg encourages us to be mindful of our thoughts, feelings, and actions and to practice loving-kindness. These teachings have had a profound impact on the mindfulness movement and have served to inspire countless individuals to take up the practice of meditation worldwide.

For the lost young woman I was, her book and teachings couldn’t have come at a better time. I hope this wonderful woman inspires you as much as she did me. Thank you for reading! Wishing you all the best, Harmony 💕😊

[For any of you interested, here is the Universal Link for A Heart as Wide as the World: https://mybook.to/AHeartasWideastheWorld to save you scrolling all the way back to the top of the page 😊]

This article was originally published on When Women Inspire as part of Christy's month of Inspiring Women posts to celebrate International Women's Month, which you can see by clicking the embedded link below ...

spiritualityself caremental healthmeditationhumanityfeature
7

About the Creator

Harmony Kent

The multi-genre author who gets write into your head

I began writing at 40 after a life-changing injury. An avid reader & writer, I love to review & support my fellow authors.

Find Me:

Blog

Story Empire

Amazon Author Page

Twitter

Goodreads

Bookbub

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Gwen Planoabout a year ago

    I'm reading A Heart as Wise as the World now -- and loving it. Thank you for sharing so personally, Harmony. You are an inspiration. ❤️

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    I have Sharon's book, A Heart as Wide as the World on my Amazon list. Thank you for the suggestion. I'm in awe that you lived 13 years as a Buddhist Monk, dedicated to meditation. WOW. Just WOW. There's a chaotic calm to your fiction writing, no doubt the influence of your discipline. I read the comment below, if you write shorter pieces of your experiences. Reminds me of the Hemingway quote, that in writing he learned never to empty the well, he said he would stop when there was still something deep in there so it could refill at night from the spring that fed it. That's not verbatim, of course. Really love your works, and getting to know more about you feels like a bonus. :)

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This is such a beautiful and inspiring story, I love that you are paying homage to someone who changed your world! This was also a great piece where you shared a bit of your past with us and I love that you are brave enough to do so! I would love a follow up story about your time as a monk or the journey to becoming one or how that all changed! Your story sounds like an intriguing one!

  • D.L. Finnabout a year ago

    Great post, Harmony! Her book just came this week and I look forward to reading it!

  • ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.