Longevity logo

The Possible Causes of Obesity

The Hidden Effects of Obesity on the Body

By Carolann SherwoodPublished 6 years ago 7 min read
Like
pixabay.comThere are many possible legitimate causes of obesity across America.And there are many not so legitimate (excuses) for your obesity.There are many more hidden effects of obesity on your health.

A Personal Perspective:

Before I start I need to make it clear to my readers that I do not have a degree or certification in nutrition. I gained an abundance of knowledge throughout the last 40 plus years as a nurse. I worked closely, for many years with dietary consultants, nutritional professionals, other nurses, doctors, laboratory consultants, and many patients. I continue to do a lot of research on weight loss, lifestyle changes, diets, disease, illnesses, and medications.

I incorporate what I learned in life with my strong beliefs. Feelings on obesity issues are neither right or wrong, they just are personal feelings. Learning comes about when we open our minds to the beliefs of others. I expect that there will be many readers who do not agree with my findings, and this is OK. Possibly, someone can sway my beliefs?

I also am rowing in the boat of obesity, I understand and I get it. I have lost 73 pounds from my all-time high. I continue to work towards my ultimate goal of a 32 additional pounds. I wore a size 22 when I retired from nursing and I am now buying size 12-14 clothing.

My closet contains some size ten jeans, which I was wearing comfortably at Christmas 2017, and then I fell off my lifestyle change. I understand fully, but I am back on track and expect to see my goal reached in fall 2018. Gradual, sensible weight loss is the way to beat obesity. You must have patience.

Causes and Effects

I believe that every disease has a cause and effect. Obesity, considered a disease, is an epidemic of illness sweeping the United States carrying with it many hidden, adverse impacts unseen to the obese person or their loved ones.

There are medical professionals who I have come in contact with who do not consider obesity an illness, nor a disease. My belief is:

  • If you cannot go a day without alcohol, you may possibly be an alcoholic, and if you are diagnosed as such, this is an illness.
  • If you cannot go a day without illegal drugs, you would be considered a drug addict, and this is an illness.
  • If you cannot go without eating constantly, hungry or not, I say you are a Foodaholic, and my belief is this is an illness.

Illnesses and disease processes in the human body because of obesity possibly come about through:

  • Inherited genetic, lifestyles
  • An imbalance of vitamins and minerals in the body, meaning excess or lack of
  • Consistently eating too many calories, carbohydrates, and sodium
  • Consistently foods high in fat
  • Lack of daily exercise
  • Lack daily water intake
  • Preparing healthy foods in an unhealthy manner.

An obese person is generally a malnourished person. According to medical news today, an individual becomes malnourished when they consistently eat a poor diet. Their diet has a lack of nutritious food choices. Most times, food is prepared wrong. Meals are essentially unbalanced.

Obesity a Major Problem in America

I am not the only one to write on the subject of obesity and what it does to the human body. A lot of what I think to be true is due to the many years of watching patients struggle with weight loss and the illnesses that obesity has inflicted upon the body.

I too have my tale of weight loss struggles so that I can relate and I understand the struggles obesity and the challenges of sensible weight loss brought about only through a forever healthy lifestyle change and not a "diet."

While some medical professionals admit that obesity is not a disease or illness, other medical professionals say that obesity is every bit an illness.

What is the meaning of obesity?

Before I retired from nursing in 2010, the medical community explained that obesity occurs at the point that a person is 30-pounds or more over their healthy weight range. When you reach 100 pounds over your ideal body weight range, you are considered morbidly obese. I believe that this is still the rule of thumb.

Considerations must first be taken into account such as,

  • Age
  • Height
  • Bone Structure
  • Physical Capabilities
  • Income Level
  • General Health

Simply put, obesity occurs when you consistently eat more calories than you burn off. You will keep gaining weight, and eventually, the person becomes obese.

Another way to look at this:

Obesity can occur when you consume more calories than you can burn off through exercise and simple walking. Your metabolism is not going to burn off the calories you eat. Thus, you continue to gain weight. Is it no wonder why you put all you have into exercising and you never seem to lose weight?

Excess calories turn into excess fat. This excess eventually causes an overweight problem for you; obesity is born.

Excuses, Excuses

I have heard many excuses for being overweight, and I too have used some of these excuses. The bottom line is there are very few people who have a legitimate reason for being overweight. Here are a few excuses.

  • I am too short.
  • Being overweight runs in the family, I have these genes.
  • I have a condition that makes me gain weight.
  • I cannot afford to buy healthy foods.
  • I am taking medicine that makes me gain weight. Most times medications increase excess fluid in your body, and this can tip the scales upward. There is a difference.
  • I do not have time to fix well-balanced meals.
  • I do not have time to exercise.
  • I am too painful to exercise.
  • I am depressed.
  • I am going through a divorce, or I am getting married.
  • I am nervous.
  • I am bored.

Too Much!

Examples of too many bad things in our foods today include sodium, processed sugars, pesticides, preservatives, dyes, starches, and lots more.

It is safe and comfortable to assume that people, who are obese, are suffering from many excesses of all the wrong things in their life by being overweight.

  • Significant weight loss or gain
  • Fatigue
  • Dizziness
  • Dental issues such as bleeding gums
  • Decaying teeth
  • Osteoporosis (brittle bone disease)
  • Loss of muscle mass
  • Body weakness
  • Impaired judgment
  • Impaired reaction time
  • Memory loss
  • Signs of dementia
  • Decreased function of all vital organs, including the heart
  • Fluid buildup in the abdomen
  • Dry skin

There is also such a thing as too many good things in our daily diets. One example is fruit. Everyone needs fresh fruit daily, but too much fruit can cause diarrhea in some people, which in turn can cause dehydration.

Why are there so many health issues?

I believe that most health issues are brought about by years of consuming unhealthy foods, cooked in an unhealthy manner, eaten in excessive amounts.

  • High Blood Pressure
  • Diabetes
  • Brittle Bone Disease
  • Kidney Disease
  • Congestive Heart Failure
  • Liver Disease
  • Pancreatic Disease

The Traditional Medical Doctor

pixabay.com

Many medical doctors do not look

at the patient's whole picutre.

You must take responsibility for your health.

Never rely solely on your doctor to make medical decisions for you. Use your doctor as a guiding force and listen to what they tell you. Think about what your doctor is telling you and use common sense to make informed decisions.

At the same time, your doctor needs to listen to what you are telling him or her. If your doctor does not take a sensible amount of time with you to discuss your health concerns, it may be time to search for a doctor who thinks you are important enough to take the time.

I have believed for a long time that our many fine and wise traditional medical doctors treat the condition and the disease, but not the causes of the disease. I saw this many times in my years of nursing. If you were to look into this, I am sure you would agree.

It is of my belief that obesity is the root of the onset of many disease processes and illnesses in the human body. If you address your overweight problem, you could see a decrease in your health issues.

If you decide that a lifestyle change is something you need and desire speak with your doctor first. Let your doctor know what you want to do and address your weight loss goals, proposed eating pattern, and exercise plan.

On your journey towards improved health and wellness, ask your doctor to help monitor your progress. When you have to answer to someone you tend to keep on a straight pathway.

**Get your doctor's approval first.

Good Luck on Your Lifestyle Change Journey

pixabay.com

Weight loss is not a quick fix or quick process.

Have patience and follow a sensible eating and exercise plan

with the help of a professional.

Last Minute Tips

  • Learn how to shop for more affordable healthy foods.
  • Shop for fresh or fresh frozen fruits and vegetables. Avoid canned foods.
  • Read all food labels.
  • Avoid processed foods, preservatives, dyes, additives, starches, excess sodium, excess sugars, white flour.
  • Learn how to prepare healthy foods so you do not ruin all the essential nutrients of fresh fruits and vegetables.

Reference Only:

Personal Experience

medicalnewstoday

health
Like

About the Creator

Carolann Sherwood

Professional nurse for over 40 years

Owned a children's daycare, eight years

Owned an upper scale clothing resale shop

A freelance writer

Editor since 2010 on a writing platform site

A published author, "Return To The Past" available on Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.