Longevity logo

The Observational Effects of Levetiracetam (Keppra)

Diary: An Antiepileptic Drug at 4000mg, 2000mg, and 1000mg daily doses

By Sweet NothingsPublished 5 years ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
2
Photo Credit: Duncan Maloney

Important note** I am not a medical professional. It is very important to listen to your trained care team and in case of an emergency call 911**

Epilepsy is a condition characterized as an abnormal, disorderly discharging of the brain's nerve cells, resulting in a temporary disturbance of motor, sensory, or mental function.

Recently, I watched a good friend of mine have five grand mal seizures in the course of two weeks.

For his protection, I will only be referring to him as my friend.

For my sanity, I will be journaling the observational data I have been recording in order to help him take control of his life again.

When my friend came to me, he was frustrated he was still having seizures. Like a good logic-driven person (and with familiarity of my friends character) I asked him if he was taking his anticonvulsant, Levetiracetam. He assured me he was, and I figured I wouldn't risk giving him the benefit of the doubt and asked him to let me observe him more closely.

I took no precautions and made him take his medicine in my view. Two doses a day as prescribed, every day.

The result: He was very sluggish; almost drunken. He thought he was an alcoholic because, to him, there was no difference in feeling with having a bit of alcohol (note: he was forced to stop drinking at the beginning of care). Additional notes of behavior: he was agitated most of the time, admitted heightened thoughts of suicide, and was extremely unresponsive.

This was 4000mg. Note: since then I have had discussions with his PCP and blood tests have been scheduled. My loyalty to my friend is to give him information as I find it and I make it very clear he should always be consulting a medical professional. This is just my observation of the few changes we made and how it has helped him.

(BTW: The maximum suggested daily dosage for most adults is 3000mg)

It takes around 44 hours for your blood levels to take to new levels, so I cut him back to 2000mgs a day (one 1000mg tablet in the morning and one at night) and started my observations again.

The result: After a couple days of this consistent new dose, my friend was noticeably more aware of his actions and surroundings. His speech became much less slurred and drunken. He opened up to me about feeling less suicidal as well, and he is wanting to take more care of himself. He still experiences some fatigue.

He also had one seizure (in one week compared to the three in one week on the 4000mg), but I noted my friend fell asleep that night without taking his medicine in my view and around 18 hours had passed before the seizure.

He was still uneasy about how the 2000mg made him feel and wanted to see if there was a way to try and go to a lower dose.

I informed him based on my research that it looks like he needed about 1300mg per day, so he could try taking half a pill in the morning and a half a pill at night and we'd just try to keep close focus on if anything changes.

The results: Over the days following my friend appeared to have much more energy along with a better grasp of being vocal. All signs of drunken stupor seemed nonexistent. It's been a few days since the last seizure, and today he seized in my arms.

He walked into my room after showering. He looked clearly disturbed. He badly wanted to tell me something. He stood looking at me, a few moments cognizant, and the next moment listless. Then he just stopped and stared. Almost instinctively I jumped up to grab his medicine realizing what was happening; but I was too late. As I stepped in front of him, I saw his fist clench, so I wrapped my arms around him. I held him and supported him while he convulsed, timed his seizure by looking at my cable box, and then when he was finished, lowered him down to the floor so he could rest until he regained control over his neural processes.

I guess what's important to note is that he was able to recognize it and make sure he was safe. Anticonvulsant drugs can sometimes have side effects just as terrifying as the conditions they treat.

Also, we have been working on small dietary changes. Anyone with their own stories on Levetiracetam, I would love to talk to you or see what things you do to help control your seizure activity.

health
2

About the Creator

Sweet Nothings

Alias Duece Lee Vizzini III

Now, Sweet Nothings, my blog is a sanctuary for love notes and human emotion. Each post is a step toward telling my own intricate, beautifully imperfect story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.