Longevity logo

The coronavirus Crisis: Is it Slowing Down?

Long Enough for People to Work Together

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

In my home state of California, coronavirus seems to be slowing down a bit. Although I just had a video call with my endocrinologist, and I'm reassured that I'm doing just fine with my own health problems, especially another autoimmune disorder that causes low blood platelets. Now that new fact has me saying, I'm not leaving the house until coronavirus cases are lower. In the United States, today I have read that coronavirus cases are topping 500,000. Deaths are at 18, 637 people. The pandemic has 1.69 million cases with more than 102,000 actually reported deaths.

We may not be able to stop social distancing efforts just yet, as there are short supplies of hospital beds and ventilators. The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation at the University of Washington, Seattle has measure that New York and New Jersey have already reached their peak of virus cases. Do not stigmatize those who survive the virus. I almost have an idea for t-shirts about coronavirus at this point. The stay at home order will not be lifted until May or so my endocrinologist has said at our video appointment.

The pandemic itself is terrifying to me because I worry about my own physical health and my reliance on mail delivery. An antibodies test made common would be very useful to those health care workers who have already been infected. In particular, if someone has already had the virus, my suggestion is to let them go back to work. This virus situation has made me very glad that I do not have my MD right now, because even if I did, I wouldn't be working the front lines. I know a nurse who works in a hospital and I'm scared for her.

An antibody test tells doctors about whether or not a person can get reinfected again. I have run into a reference from Governor Andrew Cuomo who said that those who do not survive the virus are hospitalized longer than those who do survive it. As of 4/11/20, the death toll has reached 18,000 people according to a KCCI.com article, with more than 29,000 people recovered in the United States. The curve may be getting better as of 4/11/20, according to Dr. Deborah Birx, because there are fewer projected deaths. How paranoid have I been since March? The death rate may go down to 60,000 people by August give or take they get this thing under control. You don’t have to get me to stay at home using other than common sense, and not getting infected.

If it were me, I'd suggest that the United States half-re open. By half I mean, testing the people who've already had coronavirus, to see if they have antibodies. Then, someone with proven antibodies can work while those who don't have them, stay home. This would stop the spread of the virus, if you will listen to a journalist like me. Going to church services right now is a bad idea. God will understand if you do not go to services or mass for a reason. Until there is proof that the virus is not spreading, and that the country is healthy enough to reopen, 45 is not going to reopen the country. In California, we are doing a good job of flattening the curve. I get to keep my library books two months apparently, with no fines, but I can't get new library books.

Sigh. California is doing fine, and I'm glad I don't live in New York or New Jersey. Stay at home is not dire, it is necessary. I'm also glad I'm not an essential worker right now. That is very good for me because I'm not needing to go out of the house in the mess, not with low blood platelets. The virus is looking like it may be getting better. My endo says its safe to go outside in May. I believe her over the news.

https://www.cnn.com/2020/04/10/health/us-coronavirus-friday/index.html

https://www.kcci.com/article/national-coronavirus-updates-april-11/32113850#

health
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.