Longevity logo

The anniversary

Finding out

By Nicole GrantPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The anniversary
Photo by Mykenzie Johnson on Unsplash

Not funny story time.

Fourteen years ago, while attending Morgan State, I was in the tv room on the first floor with a group of people (including Jeneè Young) singing and playing around with songs. We was eating some snacks and next thing you know I felt a sharp pain in my stomach. So I excused myself and went to the elevator.

Let me tell you about this elevator. Sometimes it worked correctly, sometimes incorrectly and other times not at all. That day it chose incorrectly.

I get on the elevator and the shit stopped halfway up the shaft so I had to climb down onto the floor. I thought no biggie that was kind of my norm. I'm a big girl so me dropping down from a distance onto the floor look like I was a turd coming out a butthole. So after dropping to the floor, the pain in my stomach never subsided. It intensified. So I crawled. I dont think anyone saw me but if you did you would be like this bitch is drunk off her ass. I was sweating and crying.

I get to the bathroom finally after what seemed like forever (it was a long hallway). I get up some strength and sat on the toilet. I did my business. Then I felt hot hot. Like my skins was on fire. So i stripped but naked. Then, I knew what was next. I had to throw up. But instead of throwing up food I threw up blood. I yelled for my roommate/best friend and future maid of honor, Crystal Kandi Ross, (she looked so cute that day) to come. I was still in the stall ass naked. She opened it and screamed put your damn clothes on then she saw my face and ran to call 911.

I crawled to the sink. I couldn't think of what else to do. In my head, I said get up wash your hands and go lay down in your bed. So my body did what it wanted. It laid down under the sink. These girls walk in and yelled and was disgusted at the visual of a fat black girl laying naked on the floor. Crystal cussed them out.

Paramedics come. They triage me. They helped me in my clothes. And put me on the gurney. I'm crying. Then we approached the fucking elevator. The shit wanted to work partially again but they got me out.

Outside, was Anthony and Kristen and a few dudes from the dorms. They made jokes about me eating too much and being fat and Anthony and Kristen defended me. (Thank you. Y'all are always considered my family)

Crystal rides with me to the hospital. They run tests and ask me to pee.

I couldn't pee. Not a drop. They told me I couldn't go home if I couldn't pee. They need the pee for a test and the test completes the hospital visit. Crystal went back to the dorms and I had to stay. After about 2 to 3 hours I finally was able to pee. I called crystal and the first thing I said was, "I PEE PEE!" Like a damn 2 year old. She did her sarcastic "ok..." and hung up.

The doctor comes in a hour later and told what happened. My body didnt respond well to my levels being elevated causing me to throw up blood. And then asks, "how long have I been diabetic" I was in shock. I told him I've never been diabetic he sat down on the end of my bed and explained to me what's going to happen next. He prescribed me some meds and told me to rest.

I was so ashamed. I didn't want to tell my dad but had no choice.

Today makes 14 years of me being diagnose as diabetic.

health
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.