Longevity logo

Put An End To Your Anxiety With A Bitter Flavor

Humorous conversation between doctor and patient

By AuroraPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Put An End To Your Anxiety With A Bitter Flavor
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

I feel anxious!

Hum…hum…

I don't know, I have everything to feel just fine. I have a great job that I love, I have an excellent partner, and my dog talks to me everyday…

Does your dog talk to you?

Yep! Ok! She Barks at me, but I understand everything she says.

I see,

I really don't know why I am feeling like this.

Might it be because of the state of the world?

Hum…Nah! I'm too selfish for that!

Is it because of your parents?

They are both dead, and I never think of them!

I see! money issues maybe?

I love money, and I have a lot of it; I'm very good at making money!

Hum…hum…

How do you see yourself?

Well, I'm a natural leader! I know how to get what I want, I can easily make people follow me, and I'm perfect at communicating…

I see.

What exactly do you see?!

What do you eat in a day?!

What?

Exactly!

Oh well, I don't have much time to eat. So usually, I eat what comes around.

Do you have breakfast before leaving home?

I have coffee!

Do you eat anything in the morning?

Just at lunchtime, generally during business meetings!

Hum…hum…

What does "hum…hum…" mean?! Because I'm already getting quite anxious with your questionnaire!

Well! You might want a quick solution, don't you?! Like a pill or something?!

Yes, please!

I can give you the pill, but first, you need to know that your anxiety is totally related to a poor diet. Tell me, do you like bitter flavors?

I do, but it's not my favorite.

I see, so what kind of bitter foods do you usually eat?

Hum…well, actually, I don't know! Can you tell me?

Of course, they are primarily veggies such as watercress, mustard greens, dandelion greens, burdock, turnip greens. But also, sesame seeds lightly toasted are pretty bitter, and especially the bran that covers the whole grains, that is also bitter.

Well, I'm not having any of those, that's for sure! Why should I eat them exactly?!

The bitter flavor is excellent to nourish your heart, but primarily because bitter foods are magnesium-rich foods, and magnesium is just great for your heart…

But I'm telling you that I'm feeling anxious; what does that have to do with my heart?

Everything, just let me continue, you see, magnesium is essential for the proper absorption of calcium. When calcium is properly functioning in all tissues of the heart and nerves, it also restrains the "anxiety peptide", a complex of amino acids in the brain that contribute to anxiety.

The most magnesium-rich foods are greens, which, and you will find this interesting, is the color of the heart chakra. Now, if I ask you in what region of your body do you mostly feel your anxiety, what can you tell me!?

Yap! Naturally in my chest! Sometimes also in my throat, face, and head, but mostly in my chest. So, I just need to eat more greens?

Well, not just eat more greens, maybe you should also avoid eating so much protein.

Have you ever heard about serotonin?!

Well, yeah!

Serotonin is this neurotransmitter present in the brain and in your intestines that makes you feel happier, calmer, and serene.

But in order to make serotonin (5-HT) you also need L-tryptophan.

The problem here is that when you are having a high protein diet, the amino acids created by that diet directly compete with L-tryptophan in the formation of serotonin;

On the other hand, a high-carbohydrate diet maximizes the presence of L-Tryptophan in your gut and your brain.

You see, research shows that people with a high-carbohydrate diet that eat primarily Whole Foods, like whole grains, greens, and beans, are invariably, calmer, happier, and more robust when dealing with stressful situations.

Yeah! That's all great, and I understand that, but I'm feeling anxious now. Can you please give me the pill?!

health
Like

About the Creator

Aurora

I write about emotions; family matters; humor; macrobiotics; poetry; fiction; philosophy; love; wealth; grace; humor.

As a reader I love to learn something meaningful, I love to feel inspired and motivated, that’s also how I try to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.