Longevity logo

Psyllium fiber benefits and health risks

Metamucil can offer you improved health but it also has one severe side effect.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Psyllium fiber husk has been used for centuries to promote better health. It was utilized in the ancient traditional medicine of Ayurveda as a method to promote the overall health and well-being of the body. This age-old knowledge has now been proven by modern-day medical science. Psyllium is considered to be one of the most effective fibers when it comes to maintaining regular digestive health.

Plantavo Ovata

Psyllium is grown in the fields of the Rajasthan and Gujarat regions of India. It comes from Plantago Ovata which is a medicinal plant found in the Mediterranean and naturalized in North America as well as central, eastern, and south Asia. The name psyllium comes from the Greek word “psulla”, which means flea, because seeds on the plant resemble a cluster fleas. Each plant produces an amazing 15,000 tiny seeds. Psyllium seed is gathered once each year and stone ground in order to harvest the husk. The ground product is what is used to make Metamucil.

Before I go on I would like to emphasize a potential health risk that I experienced. There is a warning on each container of Metamucil but I do not recall seeing it when I had my unfortunate incident years ago. It is important to drink enough water with this product so that it will not swell inside your throat and cause choking. It is recommended that you drink once eight-ounce glass of water containing 2 teaspoons of Metamucil. I now mix the 2 teaspoons of the powder in a 16 oz glass of water and drink it very slowly. I continue to stir until it's finished so the powder does not pool at the bottom of the glass.

The reason I am being so cautious is that during the summer of 2010 I began taking Metamucil to see if it would indeed lower my cholesterol so I would not have to take prescription drugs. Let me note I was also using the product Natural Calm which is a powder you add to water or milk to help relax your body. I will never know if the two products together caused the issue or just the Metamucil. Taking note of the warning on the label I will say it was the latter. I had been using this fiber supplement for about 5 days when 0ne afternoon something frightening happened.

I was standing at the kitchen sink around 3:00 PM when suddenly I could not inhale any air. My throat made a type of whistling sound and I knew I was in trouble. I tried 3 times and could not breathe as if my windpipe was closed. I knew that without air I would pass out and possibly die but I was unable to call out for help. In my mind I simply thought "Jesus help me" and a few moments later I was breathing again. I threw both the Metamucil and Natural Calm away and was thankful to be alive.

On 2 or 3 occasions since then whenever I became stressed it would feel as if my throat was closing up again. I am happy to report that this was many years ago and has not happened since. If you decide to use Metamucil please follow the instructions carefully and take every precaution you can. Now that I have shared the downside I will give you the benefits. I have been using this product for about 3 weeks now without any issues at all. When Metamucil is taken daily, the psyllium fiber content is said to provide four specific benefits.

1. REGULARITY WITH BOWEL FUNCTION

Psyllium powder is a fiber that draws water into your intestines that will bulk and soften your stool. This naturally makes it easier when your bowels are moving. Psyllium husk can also help to relieve loose stool by absorbing water and making your stool more solid. This may sound contradictory but it is similar to potassium which regulates blood pressure by reducing it when it is high and bringing it up when it is low. I have experienced both of these as well.

Once when I was using a dietary supplement I drank too much water and flushed my electrolytes out. I became weak and dizzy and felt as if I was blacking out. My BP had dropped to 56/40 but went back to normal after I ate a banana and drank a can of V8 juice, both of which are high in potassium. I have also had my BP to drop from high numbers when I eat potassium rich foods although it takes longer to decrease than it did to increase.

By Kate on Unsplash

2.ASSISTS IN MAINTAINING HEALTHY BLOOD SUGAR LEVELS

Metamucil forms a thick gel that traps some of the sugar and carbohydrates from a meal which delays the absorption of the sugar. This helps to prevent blood sugar spikes.

3. LOWERS CHOLESTEROL

In your body, cholesterol is used to make bile acids in the liver. Bile acids are released into the gut to promote digestion of the fat in the food you eat. The body typically absorbs bile acids to be used again. However, Metamucil forms a thick gel, which traps some bile acid, so not as much is re-absorbed. These trapped bile acids are removed in your body’s waste. In response, the liver removes LDL cholesterol from the blood stream, to make more bile acid, and this results in less LDL (bad cholesterol) in the blood.

By Farhad Ibrahimzade on Unsplash

5. HELPS DECREASE APPETITE BETWEEN MEALS

The gel that forms in your stomach when you take Metamucil can also help you feel less hungry in between meals. The gel pushes on the stomach walls signaling to the body that it is full. This helps decrease your appetite and assists in keeping you feeling fuller much longer.

Now you know the risks and the benefits of taking Metamucil for the psyllium fiber benefits. Please note that it is important to talk to your health care provider before trying suppliments.

diet
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.