Longevity logo

Past Covid-19

Will Life Be Different For All Of Us?

By Monroe TaylorPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Our New Road to The Future

We saw it coming, Covid-19. We heard it was not going to be a big deal. A little spot of bother. As of this day, 4/24/2020 there has been nearly 50,000 deaths in the United States and 26 million Americans are unemployed.

Now, we need to wear gloves and face masks in order to help protect ourselves and others. Everyday, we hear new information concerning what the Covid 19 is and how we should behave.

We have yet to test most Americans, so we are not sure how bad it is. We have not seen the last of this illness. We, are all living under some level of Stay at Home order. Many Americans are still waiting for their Stimulus checks and most of the SBA Loans were given to large businesses, not small business owners, who the money was earmarked for.

I have a few family members who work on the front lines, in one area or another of our community. We are all keeping them in our prayers, as we also keep all our heroes in prayer.

We go out only when we need to, as do most. Keeping social distancing always at the top of our minds. Stores and restaurants take steps to ensure everyone's safety so we may live as close to normal right now as possible.

I support the stay at home orders for all of us. I have seen so many people on television and out in public while picking up supplies, not following the rules We The People need for our protection.

I see the interviews on television, people calling for the end of the stay at home orders. I see the protesters and wonder just how long it will take until we hear about some of them coming down with covid-19. We already have been told several people who voted in Wisconsin came down with covid-19 after standing in line to vote. I am lucky to be in a State, which has vote by mail as a choice. I plan to use that choice in all of the future elections.

I think voting by mail will ensure my safety and help to keep others safe too.

When I went on my last supply run. I felt the distance we must keep keenly. We were very kind to each other at a distance and we tried very hard to remember to go down the one way isles in the grocery store; all the while some people were still passing on our left and right.

I felt guarded and happy at the same time just to be out for a little while even if just for a few hours every few weeks. I sat outside to eat a taco in the blowing wind. It was really windy and I was the only one there who did not have a car to eat in. The drive thru was open and the workers were put off by me, just one person in the dining area ordering food.

The chairs were gone. Tables taped off. No bags in the trash can. No trash cans outside either. People sat in their cars to eat. Cash registers taped off and I had to use cash and I could tell the cashier did not want to touch the money. Who could blame her. I stood back and lightly tossed the money gently across the counter to her.

I understand completely why they would feel a bit cautious. As we all do. I began to think about a little side effect of covid-19. The real loss of old fashion customer service and the need to protect ourselves from covid-19.

Making it most important we start a new way of living in our World. A living protecting ourselves and others from covid-19.

I saw very few people when I was out. The were signs on the door of one store reminding everyone no more than 20 people were to be inside at one time.

I stood inside, just in front of the entrance and took careful stock of all the people already inside the store and decided there were not 20 inside yet. I went in thinking to myself; I will feel better when the new census comes out and I am reminded there are people in the world beside just the few I see, when I go out.

I pray for the whole world to be well. I pray for a vaccine for covid-19. I pray for our Country to recover when we are all out of danger. We the People are the most important in the World.

health
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.