Longevity logo

Opting out of Metformin

Not Letting It Rob Me of My Life

By Jennifer CypertPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I was in a small medical college, we were practicing finger pricking to test for diabetes. I remember mine being higher than the rest of the group. The following week, I was sitting in the doctor’s office. They diagnosed me with Type 2 Diabetes. I was given a prescription for Metformin. I just trusted the doctors, hoping everything would be alright, as long as I stayed on the pills.

According to Healthline, Metformin has a black box warning, meaning the FDA considers this to be a dangerous medication. Here are some of the lovely side effects of taking this medication:

  • Lactic acidosis is a rare but serious side effect of this drug. In this condition, lactic acid builds up in your blood. This is a medical emergency that requires treatment in the hospital. Lactic acidosis is fatal in about half of people who develop it.
  • Symptoms of Lactic Acidosis are: tiredness, weakness, unusual muscle pain, trouble breathing
  • Low blood sugar symptoms include: headache, weakness, confusion, shaking or feeling jittery, drowsiness, dizziness, irritability, sweating, hunger, fast heart rate, unusual sleepiness, stomach, pains, nausea, or vomiting, dizziness or light headedness, slow or irregular heart rate.
  • Stomach problems include diarrhea, nausea, stomach, pain, heartburn, and gas. These are the symptoms that I experienced, and it was awful. I wouldn’t wish the medication on anyone.

I think you should also stay far away from this drug if you have PCOS. According to Sepalike.com, Metformin will bring on more complications such as:

  • Accumulation of Homocysteine: Long-term use of metformin for PCOS causes a decrease in the levels of folic acid (vitamin B9). This causes an increase of an undesirable compound called homocysteine. The accumulation of homocysteine is linked to increased risk of colon cancer, stroke, recurrent miscarriage, Alzheimer’s disease, depression and heart disease. Low levels of vitamin B12 and folic acid along with high levels of homocysteine are also harmful to the health of a developing baby.
  • Anemia: Another Metformin side effect for PCOS is a decrease in Vitamin B12 levels because the drug affects the absorption of this vitamin. Vitamin B12 is vital for red blood cell formation. When levels of vitamin B12 go down, you can suffer from anemia. Common symptoms of anemia include tiredness, lightheadedness, and dizziness. Vitamin B12 also plays an important role in many bodily processes. For example, there is evidence of a relationship between low levels of vitamin B12 and an increased risk of heart diseases.

Much later, after I had my little girl was when I became proactive about my health. I was going to play in the water with her and was eager to try out my new swimsuit. I looked in the mirror, I mean really looked. What I saw, I didn’t like. Something had to be done about this. I played in the water with her anyway, but just put on a t-shirt. I didn’t want anyone else to see me. I hated how I looked.

Sometime that month, I ordered green coffee pills. They were all the rage back then. I also decided that I was going to cut out bread, pasta, and flour. I didn’t, however, cut out sugar, just limited the amount I consumed. I wasn’t really crazy about carbs in the first place, so it was easy for me. Eventually, the weight did come off. I was now at a healthy weight.

Now here is the thing. I had a different doctor. She checked all my blood work. Everything was normal, and I did not have diabetes. I have beaten it. There are many people who have thought that they have to stay on this medication. I believe that you don’t. I believe that doctors and large pharmaceutical companies are feeding the world lies so they can profit on the sick and obese. Take if you have to, but take it at your own risk.

health
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Cypert

A lover of all the impossibles if only they are in my head.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.