Longevity logo

One Sentence Is All It Takes

Make a difference.

By Crystal KralewskiPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I don't think most people really understand how much words affect our everyday lives. In less than a few mere seconds our day could be made or utterly destroyed. With one sentence our world could be turned upside down in an instant. Calling someone beautiful, saying you like someone's shirt, or even simply saying hello could make someone who felt down and depressed perk up and enjoy the rest of their day.

In some cases, however, it's not as heartwarming as some would hope. For within one instant, my entire world came crashing down all around me. It was as if everything I knew was just a curtain covering up the cold, hard truth from me, and misleading me onto a path from which there is no escape. We opened a can of worms that made my son's life a matter of life or death. My sweet, innocent baby began a battle that will either be a bittersweet victory or turn into my worst nightmare.

The week before my wedding I received a call from my doctor, saying my son needed an MRI. The day before our wedding we traveled three hours away to get the scans that were needed to be done. However, we were told it would take an hour to complete, but they didn't come back for two hours. When they came to talk to us they said they found something. That word—something—who knows how many things a thing could possibly be. Unfortunately, we had to wait for more scans. Finally, after another hour of panic, they brought us into a room for families to speak with the doctor. But what the doctor had to say as he sat us down and looked us in the eyes just about killed me inside.

"I don't know exactly how to tell you this, but your son has a tumor in his brain that is about two inches in diameter. Because of the size, his brain fluids have been building up like a water balloon." Okay, is that about to be fixed, what can we do? "Well, we are going to have to remove the tumor and drain out the fluids in his head. He is currently going into surgery to put the draining tube in his head." Okay, well we can get through this, will the surgery be difficult? "The surgery is unpredictable at this time, we won't know until we actually get into his head. I'm sad to say, however, that there is more to the situation at hand right now." What do you mean?

"Ma'am, unfortunately, your son has cancer."

This one sentence, that one evil, vile word, cancer. That one sentence destroyed everything inside of me. Something snapped deep down in the center of me from that point on. All I could do for hours from that moment was sob and scream on the floor. No amount of tears or screams could contain the amount of pain I felt. Everything in my life was changed in an instant. I had to lose my job so I can stay and support my son. From that day forward I have stayed in Rochester, MN up until now. Since then, my husband has had to stay at home to work to keep the bills paid. From then on, every moment with my son has been a blessing. From that one sentence, my life has completely turned around.

Sometimes you may not ask for it. Words come at you all day every day from dozens of people you may or may not know. You don't get to choose what is said and you don't get to choose what happens. I never wanted to hear any of what his doctor said to me. If I could change everything I would. But I cannot dwell upon the fact that I can't change it. Instead, I need to embrace what strength I have and get through this fight with my son with our heads held high. One day, my sentence can change everything. One day the sentence, "My son beat CANCER!" can come out of my mouth and can change my world.

It takes but one sentence, even one word, to change everything that is happening around you. No one can prepare for any word can escape through anyone's mouth. How you react to what is said is what matters most. Enjoy every compliment, fight through judgment, and survive any great tragedy that falls upon you. Show love, survive, and spread hope to one another. This is what makes us human.

health
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.