Longevity logo

Now Everybody Knows

Because of Lockdown

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

And how is everybody faring with lockdown measures? I'm taking precautions daily about how not to wind up with the virus. COVID-19 is a tricky devil from what I've read. I'm determined to avoid getting it, so I have invested my time in learning about lemongrass tea which is a gentle immune system booster having no side effects. It even tastes like lemon without the citrus chemicals that could give me heartburn. But anyway, lockdown is a measure that has been taken to prevent the infection from spreading. I'm hiding out at home until it is absolutely safe to go out. I have a physical therapy in-person appointment coming up at the end of this month.

Lockdown is not like being rounded up, it is a benign way of preventing the virus from spreading. Some of us in California might have already had it in February. Some people can be asymptomatic carriers who spread it without realizing what they are doing. The human thing to do is to let everybody on this planet stay home so that the virus does not spread with person-to-person contact. This lockdown is an excuse for me to get a preview of the post-hernia surgery lifestyle or for that matter, the pre-hernia surgery lifestyle.

You know that low-grade paranoia you feel? Will I get infected from food delivery people? Anxiety is about a feeling of dread, or that something bad will happen to me. Anxiety is also panic attack linked, and although I haven't had many of those, I'm still paranoid since I know at least one person who had the virus where I live. I'm not sure who else has had it. The mere fact they are only testing people with symptoms does show just how broken our health care system is.

Stress is something that everybody in quarantine is going through right now, the stress of not knowing where your next paycheck will come from if you lost your job. To mitigate stress you have to change your perspective on it, since managing stress is all about that pesky point of view we talk about in writing class. Having a point of view about the crisis is something that will teach you resiliency. The crisis itself is something I'm weathering on my own without my family here. Swine flu was a different crisis, although I knew plenty of people who got it, even if I didn't get it, but it had similar effects on breathing that COVID-19 does.

I'm weathering the crisis by myself just fine. I got the stimulus check, for one, and for once I have extra money. I bought rose hip vitamin C pills and licorice tea on iherb to maintain my wellness. I'm trying to keep myself centered with the knowledge that I have good enough medical care although this virus is giving many people the insight that our health care system in the United States needs an overhaul. This event would be historic in magnitude, imagine if suddenly everybody got free healthcare. Then that would be a significant change in this country. I'm glad I get medical care,

I'm glad I have medical care, and the free will to manage my diabetes on my own. I gather that everybody can relate to OCD style germ phobia since I have that in abundance right now. Although it is good to have an abundance of cash right now too. That budget spreadsheet I made was a great idea. I'm definitely working on type 1- diabetes among other things right now. I'm also seeing a surgeon this June. If I have other appointments to work out, I have to make sure that I make them and keep them. As far as the pandemic goes, now you normal folks know what anxiety feels like. Stress is a constant part of my life that I'm working on. I need to work on it, which is more than I can say my family is working on. But anyway, the pandemic will soon pass, my friends, and things will get better.

health
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.