Longevity logo

Nothing Changes if Nothing Changes

How I lost myself so I could find myself

By April MoyerPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
a work in progress

JUST ME....

This is my journey for finding a better me. A healthier, happier version of myself, and I hope that, in some small way, that might help you find a healthier, happier version of yourself.

YUMMY!

ONE RECIPE - TWO YUMMY DESSERTS!

One large container of FF Plain Greek yogurt (I just like Fage, but you can use anything you like), mix that with a package of sugar free, fat free jello, 1/4 cup sugar free syrup, and one fresh mango cut up (you can use any fruit you like). Mix this up and pour half into a cake pan, bake at 350 for about half an hour or until set in the middle, chill and viola, cheesecake!! You can take the other half, mix in 1/2 cup of Skim Milk and put in an ice cream maker for delicious ice cream!! (Note, this freezes like a brick, so only freeze enough for you to eat at that time. You can store the rest in the fridge to eat as yogurt/breakfast/whatever, or make ice cream the next day!!)

So on to your actual meal, one of my favorite proteins is fish because there are so many different types, textures, flavors and I'm lucky because I happen to live in Florida, so fresh fish is readily available. It's also super important to find a fish monger that you trust, because you want to buy fresh fish when you can, but also try for sustainable (that's just a personal thing for our planet). Even if you have to buy frozen, here is the single greatest fish hack I can provide:

Seriously, it makes all fish taste amazing!! (Careful with the pour though, it can get really salty really quickly.)

And I always like to cook it in a pan with a little olive oil. Now, olive oil is said to be a healthier alternative to butter, which I believe, but it can still add up super quick, so what I like to do is put just a teaspoon of oil in my pan and then take one of those silicone pastry brushes and use it to coat the pan. That way, you are still getting a good, non-stick surface without all the extra added calories/fat.

EXERCISE

After two weeks on the Couch to 5k app, my knees were hurting really bad, so I decided to put a pause on that and go back to the gym. After I lose approximately 15 more pounds and take that extra pressure off my knees, I will try again. Until then, my mornings (5:30 AM, no excuses!) consist of the row machine, stationary bike, treadmill, or weight machines. I asked an on-the-floor trainer his thoughts on the app and he gave me a little tip that I will pass onto you. He said that I could still do the app, only instead of running during those times, speed walk. That way, I can practice on my gait and when I do start running again, at least that part will be correct—clever, right???

*Please note, I am not a doctor, dietitian, nutritionist, trainer, or certified in any way to provide you with medical information. I can only share with you my experiences, anything you take from that would need to be cleared with your own team of experts, only you and your doctor can decide what is best for you.

*Email me at any time with any questions, comments, concerns you may have, or just to say hi, and I promise to get back to you as soon as possible: [email protected]

____________________________________________________

This is not only about losing weight because in truth, the ultimate goal is to just be a better person, regardless of what goal you are working on. It's important to start with being a better you, making sure you love yourself for who you are and what you are, learning to be truthful with yourself. The hardest part, learning to be happy with yourself.

health
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.