Longevity logo

My Personal Experience With the Pfizer Vaccine

Scheduling, emotions, and side effects.

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Maybe my own experience will help you decide if the vaccine is right for you. Everyone is different and we all rightfully have our own thoughts and opinions. I am in no way trying to persuade you to get it or not to get it. The ultimate decision is yours and at the end of the day only you know what's right for you.

Here are the intimate details of the entire process of getting the COVID-19 vaccine, from pre-vaccine emotions, scheduling and side effects,

Ever since the COVID-19 pandemic erupted, people have been waiting for a vaccine. Once it arrived a lot of us found ourselves afraid to get it. There's so much negativity spreading about it. Rumors that we really don't know are true or not.

I read the Pfizer trial and knew the likelihood of moderate-severe symptoms was extremely low. I felt nervous and apprehensive about getting the vaccine. I had plenty of “what if" thoughts. I knew that the known risks of COVID-19 far outweighed the risks of a well-tested vaccine.

According to the Federal Drug Administration, the Pfizer vaccine is 96% effective against COVID-19 after both shots. Other vaccines are making their way onto the market and each day more people are able to receive a vaccine. Although it may seem scary, the actual virus is not in the shot. Contrary to what some claim, you are not putting “poison” into your body. The more that I educated myself the better I felt about taking the first step. Although I will admit that I had a terrifying little twitch deep down in my stomach. Just know that’s it’s okay to have a wide range of emotions during the decision-making and waiting process.

Once I got the message that I was approved for the vaccine I was prompted to create a login in an online portal and complete a health status questionnaire. Once ready to schedule, I called the number provided to me. They checked that I was indeed approved for the vaccine, conducted a brief symptom check screening questionnaire, and then scheduled me for the first dose, all in about five minutes. I was scheduled twelve days after the day I called.

I took my seat at the designated station and was asked if I was feeling sick, if I was pregnant, or if I was planning to become pregnant for the next 28 days. I was also given a choice of what arm to be vaccinated in. After getting my shot, I was given a vaccination card with the date of vaccination and a signature. I received my 1st vaccination and after a 15 minute observation I was ready to schedule my second dose.

I received my vaccine around 10:45 a.m. While under observation, I had no symptoms but a pain in my shoulder. When driving home I noticed the pain in my shoulder had moved up to my neck and the right side of my face. I could start to feel the headache behind my eyes. I felt some stiffness on the right side of my face, in my jaw, and cheek.

I made it home safely and noticed significantly more neck stiffness. I still had my headache, but I was also extremely sleepy. So sleepy that I couldn't even keep my eyes open. I napped for 2.5 hours, and when I woke up I felt like I didn’t know what day it was.

When I woke up and immediately noticed mild muscle soreness in my arm, but I was most aware of the grogginess. I noticed a significant increase in pain at the injection site and muscle soreness. These are all considered common symptoms. The symptoms lasted for only a day and a half. Although for about a week I battled with the drowsy / sleepiness.

After the second dose I had a mild headache for a couple of days. The injection site was sore and I experienced some muscle cramps especially at night. I felt agitated for the first day and easier than normal to get angry. After 3 days I was back to normal and feeling as good as new.

Like most vaccines, mass vaccination is what many believe will help stop the spread of COVID-19. Nobody knows for sure what the future will look like, but I am hopeful that the year brings us even closer to the end of a pandemic that has plagued us all for well over a year now. Until we reach the light at the end of the tunnel, I encourage others to continue to wear masks and to strongly consider getting the vaccine when they are able to. As always the choice is yours and yours alone. Nobody has the right to tell you what to do with your body. I have many friends and family who refuse to take the vaccine and I respect their personal decisions.

Some people wonder if there could be long term side effects that we may not feel for a while down the road. I suppose we will have to wait and see if that happens and hope for the very best.

health
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.