Longevity logo

My Life's Story

Life is a Learned Journey

By John RobinsonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Growing up in a small town of Alabama, Didnt have much growing at the time, however my parents did give me life and structure of how to be a person of like and admiration. I am a blessed person, my mom carried me for 6 months and life for me being born was very fatal. As time went on I suffered an head injury where I have to revieve 6 stitches. You may be saying Thats all? But when it comes to a merry go round with no gaurd or covering on it is plucking you in the back of your head, it would be a diffeent senario, but anyways, It was a miracle as I was out there on the school playground playing with my so call friends but really they were just class mates for that grade. As I pushed them around and around on that merry go around I went faster and faster and faster! Until all of a sudden I slipped! I fell right up on that merry go round and Bang Bang Bang Bang Bang! All i remember is getting up off of the ground and holding the spot where my head was hit, I cried and hollered and screamed,, and my friends (Classmates) screaming and running from me like it was a horror, which it probably was to them! I remember sitting in my class waiting for some to come and take me to the office and call my mother. This one girl that would try to always bully me, (Key word try). Walked up to me with her friends looking at the back of my head, she said yep his egg broke. Yep you heard me egg! She use to call me egg head. MMM> I wonder what shes like these days. Any way my child hood story unfolded to the next level in my life. I am a miracle chlild. Fast forwarding. In 2009 after I had a beautiful wedding with my lovely wife, 3 months later I was diagnosed with Kidney faliure, I was placed on dialysis to undergo 3 day a week treatment. It was the worst my wife and I could ever recieved. But we went with it hoping that it would help me to sumerge the thought off of it getting worse that it already was. I did every dialysis treatment that you could think off. Pd which is Home Peritoneal dialysis manually, Home Peritoneal dialysis night cycle machine, Treatment center hemo dialysis, and then there was a Big break! A new program was introduced to the patients that were compliant with their treaments, Thankfully I was one those people!! Its call the nocturnal program, whcih provide hemo dialysis treament at night in center 3 nights a week for 8 hours a day. It was great time managment and convient for myself and my wife and children. I did this for several months. One day I was at work at a clothing store, one of the Largest retail stores in the world for men. I REMEMBER CLEARLY BECAUSE IS WAS NEW YEAR EVE OF 2013 The work phone rang, me ironically answered, I did the store greeting and said my name, it was the clinic calling me, that day I left my phone my wifes car. They said thery were trying to reach me about the results for me being a possible canidate for a new Kidney, and that there were 3 canidates and 2 kidneys availible. So I ran across the street to tell my wife so we could both call them together, we went to my wifes office to call the person back, and thats when they told us what was going on... We had high expectations the rest of that day!

So I went back to work and later that evening I was scheduled to be at treatment, but however when I got there, and got hooked up to the machine no sooner that an hour I reviceved a call, and this is what she said... Mr. Robinson?

Me: Yes

Her: Sighs.......... Its going to be a happy new year for you, you got the KIDNEY!!! So on january 1st of 2014 I became a new Person! Ive now had my Kidney for 6 years!!!

health
Like

About the Creator

John Robinson

I am a Musician, Entrepreneut, Composer, Husband, Father. I enjoy traveling, listening and learning new music, being around positive vibe. Ive been playing for 20+ years and Paying it foward by teaching others what I know.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.