Longevity logo

My Life in Isolation

COVID-19 changing my life - Week 1

By Hannah ElliottPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

So, I am one of the lucky ones you could say with this. My work has made it so that I am working in self-isolation. Now to be clear, I do not feel sick, I have been tested and am negative for the COVID-19 virus, but I am still isolating myself and it is a choice. I may be one of the 97% who will be fine even in getting this virus as I am young and healthy and have a strong immune system. But I am doing this for the elderly, for people’s grandparents and old family members who may not be so lucky.

I live in a bachelor/studio apartment that is more or less, 8ft by 10ft. It is just one room essentially, with a bathroom attached. So, the feeling of stir crazy is looming very quickly, also to “help” with the matter the gyms are now closed meaning that I do not have to leave my apartment, for anything. I am here for 3 weeks at the least and I will be giving an update on what it is like being entirely alone for that time.

Week 1:

Monday was the first day of isolation and it was different. It was tough dealing with all the information coming out and dealing with everything closing it was a lot to deal with. It was nice working from home, because I got to sleep in longer and have breaks when it was needed. I was able to get out and about on a few occasions to get some groceries and prepare but that only added to the paranoia I’ve been feeling. The day felt okay but long, and I realized how quickly I can watch a show haha.

Tuesday was tough. Tuesday felt more depressing, probably because that was when the reality of the situation really hit. I did not leave my apartment, the weather outside was bleak and it came to me that everything was closed. Worse was that I was alone, it is tough being away from my family and that I am away from my boyfriend as well, so things are tough. It is hard trying to find the positive in this when also feeling trapped, but I am hoping that as the situation continues, things get easier.

Wednesday was a much better day. I felt reenergized after a much-needed phone call with my family and my boyfriend. Things were starting to look up as well, there have been positive breakthroughs in the world. Also, I found ways to make being at home not as negative as what I thought it was going to be. Getting fresh air, using natural light, turning off the indoor lights, taking a shower are all little things that made today better. It made things seem blah because they were things that I would do normally.

Thursday was okay, I had a bit of work to do but I decided that it would be smart as well to use it to make a list of things I wanted ot get done while I was home. I decided that on top of work, I would also reorganize and redecorate my room. Get rid of some of the things I once liked but now am unsure about. Also, I've decided to practice yoga more, trying to get more flexible which I have been wanting to do for years but "never had the time". Though my day was not as busy as I wanted it to be, implementing these little tasks really helped make the days not seem as long. I am hoping that as the weeks go by more of these things come to light. Who knows I might decide to even clean my fridge in the next few weeks.

Friday is tough. Because today I was originally supposed to have the day off and I still did have it off. I had a physio appointment which was hectic, because I was partly afraid of leaving the house. Thankfully I did not have to take the public transit, I was able to take my bike, which made me feel a lot better because I was not stuck surrounded by people. But the rest of the day was long and tough because all I could do was sit and wait, I had to wait until my boyfriend was off work to go do anything because everything else was close. All I could do at that point in time was wait and wallow in a doubt. I still tried to stay active, I still did a workout and a bike ride which were short lived but great.

Week 1 was tough, but I managed to make it through. It will be interesting to see what happens the next few weeks that I am stuck here as the world tries to figure out what is to go one with it. I ask that you read this you know that it is difficult to not do anything, but sometimes the best thing to do is nothing.

lifestyle
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Elliott

Let talk:

True Crime Reviews looking at the good, bad and ugly not only from the stories but to the quality

  • Shows
  • Movies
  • Books

Movie Reviews of past and present watches

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.