Longevity logo

My experience with the Covid-19 Vaccines.

My and my coworkers experience getting the Moderna and Pfizer vaccines.

By Emilia the BatPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
My experience with the Covid-19 Vaccines.
Photo by Daniel Schludi on Unsplash

Disclaimer: I am not a scientist or medical professional, so take what I saw with a grain of salt. This is simply to help those curious about getting a Covid-19 Vaccine to know what to expect.

For almost a year now, I have worked in the kitchen of an Adult Care Facility. I have never known this building outside of its Covid related lockdown. As mandated by my state, I’m used to the constant mask and eye protection, the weekly testing, and the constant state of change within the building. Regardless of the difficulties of being a health care working during these times, I was provided the luxury of being vaccinated for free.

I remembered hesitating when my employer asked if I would like to get the shot. After all, it was still so new, and it was hard to find first-hand accounts about what to expect. Yes, there are the facts and figures offered by researchers, but I wanted something more personal than a chart with percentages. So I figured why not share my and a few of my coworker’s experiences and give some tips to prepare?

I didn’t feel too keen on getting poked with this thing. But at eighteen, having money for the first time, and wanting to see my friends again, I decided I’d take one for the team. I mean, if the vaccine will end this sooner, why not?

At my facility, they had separated staff into two groups. After all, there were stories from other local nursing homes and hospitals that large portions of the staff having unpleasant side effects. We couldn’t afford to be short.

I was put in group two, scheduled to go two weeks after the first. It sounded good at the time. I’d get to hear about what to expect and get all the tips and tricks the others had learned.

Watching the first group get vaccinated, I felt pretty good about this thing. They had all received the Moderna. Over the next few days the worst I heard was a few people had chills and fatigued. Mostly, it was all just sore arms and joints.

But then, upon sitting down for mine, the Pfizer vaccine was all they had in stock. I was a little worried, I mean, so much for the round of guinea pigs, right?

Here we come to my first mistake. Do not get your vaccine in your dominants arm let alone the one you sleep on. After the suggestion of a supervisor, I rolled up my sleeve and got poked… in my right arm.

Now if you all are wondering if it hurts like when you get the flu shot. No, no, it does not. The injection is painless. I think I was more bothered by the latex in my Band-Aid than the shot itself. But to my surprise, it was a lot higher than any flu shot, to say the least. So here’s tip number two. This sucker is going right into your deltoid, that muscled that connects your arm to your shoulders, yep that one. Wear something that gives access to your upper arm and shoulder or can easily roll up or be pushed down.

Now, about an hour later, my arm stung. It was hot, a little tingly, but not painful yet. No… that was when I went to bed. Normally, I never react to shots. So not think I lay right on the freaking spot.

I woke up with a killer sore arm. Imagine a pro wrestler slugging you in the arm mixed with joint pain. Yep, that’s it. Day two sucked for me. I didn’t realize how much I used those muscles at work. My arm was hard and heavy and it hurt like hell.

Day three, I woke up, and it was like it never happened. As if the bad day before was a dream, funny how that worked. So yeah, that was just about it for my body’s brawl with dose number uno.

Now, on the other hand, I had co-workers who didn’t even have an arm ache. Meanwhile, my mother was sent home on day two. She had a new level of fatigue. Just the look in her eyes was like she wasn’t there. Her whole body was cold and of course, her arm hurt. It lasted for about 12 hours. She woke up on day 3 and was fine.

But I guess it wasn’t that surprising that we mostly had a mild reaction. After all, it’s normally the second dose you have to worry about.

I was growing nervous. Watching as the first group’s time ticked closer and closer. Even if we had different brands of vaccines, I was hoping they’d prove the stories wrong.

Unfortunately, they didn’t.

The morning after their second dose, only eight out of the ten employees came to work. Stories of fevers, full-body aches, extreme fatigue, and more filled the building. The two outliers came in. While, one of them had not a single reaction. The other, well let’s just say he wasn’t looking too good.

That was around the time the nerves kicked in. Stories about how they made it through those 16 hours of misery passed through the building.

They spoke of taking Tylenol for the fever, heavily hydrating before and after vaccination, as well as keeping a bottle of PowerAde on hand.

Let’s just say, our employer was far more prepared when it came time for the second group. Anyone who was getting the vaccine got the next day off. Something about hoping to sweat it off before the weekend came and we couldn’t be covered.

My mother and I had stocked up on anything we may need. Shopped early and got any housework done beforehand.

The second shot was just as painless on injection. Only, it took maybe fifteen minutes before it started aching. It was dull compared to the first time, but it was there.

From there fatigue set in. Nothing I couldn’t handle. But I guess I’m always fatigued, so what’s new? The next day, well, I slept, a lot. My joints throbbed with a dull ache. I was exhausted. It only lasted for that one day. The next morning, I was as chipper as usual.

My mother had a low-grade fever, body aches, and fatigue. But it was never as bad as the group before us. Pfizer had proven to wreak far less havoc. Our residence who had received the shot were complex without symptoms and well, our other coworkers just had the sore arm or nothing at all.

We made it through with mild reactions.

Now that it’s over, I don’t have any regrets. Living in a household with at-risk family members brings new peace of mind, knowing I’m less likely to ever spread the virus. Hell, it just feels good knowing you won’t get sick with it.

I know that this might sound scary. After all, who wants a reaction to a vaccine? But the thing is that there’s a chance you won’t have any. You won’t know how you will respond until you try it yourself. If you have questions and offered the opportunity you can always speak with you doctor to find out if it's safe for you.

So what can you take away from this?

1. The shot is higher in your arm than you’d think, so dress appropriately.

2. The shot is painless upon injection.

3. Your arm is most likely going to hurt, so if you have a preference, be sure to act accordingly.

4. The first dose isn’t terrible. But you might be tired.

5. If something is going to happen, it’ll happen in the first 72 hours (3 days)

6. Pfizer gives fewer symptoms than Moderna. But with the limited resources, it's recommended you take whatever is available to you.

7. Hydration is key to fight off the fever and blahs.

8. It seems people near and over the age of 60 have fewer symptoms.

9. But apparently, this isn’t a linear effect, considering an 18-year-old had fewer symptoms than a 39-year-old.

10. Be sure to consult a medical professional if you have questions.

11. In the end, this vaccine will save lives.

Thank you for reading about my experience. Be sure to practice social distancing, wear masks and be safe.

health
Like

About the Creator

Emilia the Bat

An aspiring writer and artist looking for an escape from her day job.

https://twitter.com/Emilia_the_Bat

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.