Longevity logo

My experience with Parkinson's

Many falls

By Jim GilesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was shaking a lot and in the hospital.A neurolgist came in and said I have Parkinson's. I was in shock. He put me on carbadopa levadopa right away. That is a med for this terrible disease. I started shaking less. I didn't want to believe I had it. I went to another neurologist and she confirmed the diagnosis. She sent me for physical therapy and kept me on the same meds. I was helped a little by PT.

I went to her for a few years. After a while, she left the practice. A new doctor took her place. After that, I started falling a lot. I fell backwards and banged my head on the wall. I kept ending up in the hospital for falling. The last time I fell, they put me on the neurology floor. They got me a walker to walk with. I needed a walker to get into the bathroom. Some young nursing students came in my room to help me.

I saw a new neurologist and he said my Parkinson's had gotten worse. He increased my carbadopa levadopa. It still can be increased more. I am still falling backwards. I am so afraid of falling again. My mother who is 91 helps me. I also have a nurse's aide to help me at home. I have to see the doctor again next month. I got out today to the auto parts store and practiced walking. I walked up and down the aisle and made a lot of ground.

I watch tv a lot at home, I got into watching shows and movies on netflix. I also watch the news a lot. I use my cane or walker around my place. I use my cane when I go out. I haven't been to the diner in a while. I fell backwards at the diner parking lot and banged my head on the pavement. The paramedics came and helped me up. My sugar was low and my mom got me orange juice to drink. It raised my sugar and I was able to stand. My mom didn't want me to go in the hospital again. A few days later, I spoke to a doctor online and, he told me to go to the hospital. He thought I might have had a stroke. I went and they admitted me for falling. I met my new neurologist in that visit.

I am still very dizzy and afraid of falling. I canceled my dental appointment today and will try to go in a month. This falling is very depressing. I have bipolar and was put on latuda for the depression. It seems to help. I am going back to school in January to study computers in graduate school. I hope I do well.

I have a friend up north of me who lost his wife to covid last January. We talk a lot about our problems and this helps my depression. I also find writing is cathartic. I enjoy writing and sharing my story. I hope I get better soon. These are very trying times for me. I have a sister not far away. I don't see her much. She works full time. I live alone.

I hope someone finds a cure for my constant falling. I am looking forward to the holidays. I hope I am somewhat better for them. We all tend to stay inside with covid. I get out a little at a time. I still have to do my holiday shopping. I have tried to be optomistic and get better. This all will pass in time.

health
Like

About the Creator

Jim Giles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.