Longevity logo

Moringa, The New Turmeric

Tell Me More

By Renae De VriesPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

Just when you don't think they can't come up with another super food... they do! I was reading an article the other day and a word came up that I had never seen before — moringa. So, of course out of curiosity I looked into it, and I was blown away at the information that I was able to obtain about this little plant! So, I thought that I would take a little bit of time to share with you all the information that I was able to gather.

1. Its Location

A very important first thing to cover, because I don’t know about you, but I like to know where my food comes from. This marvelous little plant is native to India, however it can also be found in regions of Latin America, Africa, and Asia. Some research even suggests that this plant was used as far back as the Egyptians and Ancient Greeks for things such as cleaning agents, fertilizers, and medicine. This just goes to show how versatile of a plant that it is.

2. The Nutritional Profile

It has three times as much iron as spinach (5.3 to 28.2 mg vs 2.7 mg). Also, it has three times as much Vitamin C as an orange (220 mg vs 69.7mg) and three times as much potassium as a banana (1324 mg vs 422 mg). As well as massive amounts of Vitamins B, C, and E. Also, an amazing fact that I came across was that for anyone who is vegan, this plant contains 45 percent complete protein, and what that means is that it contains all nine essential amino acids. Reading those facts alone makes me want to start adding this plant into my diet!

3. Health Benefits

What amazed me most about this plant was that every part of it can be used in some way from the leaf, to the root, the bark, or the seeds. The biggest benefit of this small plant, is its anti-inflammatory properties. It’s being called, the new turmeric. It’s a great wound healer and marvelous at preventing infection. Another benefit are the anti-aging properties, and who couldn’t use more of those? The best way to obtain those properties is to ingest the leaves, or to drink a tea that contains the leaves. An additional benefit is the leaves have a calming effect, so it helps with anyone who battles insomnia, and as a bonus it also helps to lower blood pressure.

4. Where can I find it?

This was the area that I was most curious about. Being that I had never heard of the plant before I had no idea where to purchase it. However, upon doing some research there are a lot of places that carry it and thanks to online shopping you have endless possibilities! Those choices are, health food stores, grocery stores such as Walmart, and even Amazon. So, no matter where you live, you can purchase this amazing super food! It can be found in protein powders, nutrition bars, juices, kombucha and even chips.

5. What about taste?

I know for most, me included, that this is an essential part of choosing anything new to add to our diet. I will not, like most of you I’m sure, eat anything, or add anything to my diet that doesn’t taste good. My view on that is, if it doesn’t taste good, then what’s the point? The seeds are known to have a sweet flavor, and the leaves have a nutty taste to them.

Upon gathering all my information, it’s very apparent that this little plant is something that I am going to be adding to my everyday eating. It’s packed full of nutrients and tons of health benefits! Also, it’s easily accessible, and above all, it tastes good! Who can argue with that information?

I hope you have enjoyed all my information about this new and upcoming plant. I am always taking suggestions if there is anything that you are wishing for me to write about. I enjoy writing about any topic or area from the common, to the uncommon, to the just plain weird and funny! I love having such amazing readers and I will post again very soon!

health
Like

About the Creator

Renae De Vries

I am a writer who enjoys entertaining my readers with information about anything and everything! I love to read, watch movies, travel with my husband and laugh endlessly. I look forward to your comments, insights and suggestions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.