Longevity logo

LUPUS

Simple ways to keep Lupus in remission

By Fatma M RobinsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Fatigue bites

During my teen years, I was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis and PolyCystic Ovarian Syndrome. Therefore, I got a hold of every book of knowledge as possible. I couldn't understand why this was happening to me. We always thought my arthritis was growing pains. It wasn't. Therefore, I started a low carb diet without ingesting nightshade foods. Nightshade foods refer to mushrooms, white potatoes, tomatoes, and peppers. They come from the plant family Solanaceae. This diet worked until I got into a car accident at the age of nineteen. I developed high blood pressure and a form of Lupus called Systemic Vasculitis. Basically, the wind can almost trigger inflammation from my Lupus. Some of the most common drugs to treat a flare-up from Lupus are steroids, muscle relaxers, pain pills, nerve pills, and biologics. At forty-three years of age, I have only been treated with one anti-viral or biologic. I had no choice, but to learn about herbal medicine. The steroid only made my Bipolar worse, and I gained a lot of weight. So here is what I do to stay healthy with Lupus.

Firstly, in my experience, Swanson’s vitamins are the cheapest and the best.

1.Flaxseed contains omega-3 fatty acids and alpha-linolenic acid, which may help reduce inflammation. ...

2.Fish oil or Kelp which also contains omega-3 fatty acids, may help reduce inflammation.

3.Dehydroepiandrosterone (DHEA). ...

4.Calcium and vitamin D supplement

5. Super greens in juice once a day

6. Olive Leaf extract

7. Iron when needed

8. Turmeric and curcumin for the pain and inflammation caused by Lupus

9. Corydalis for pain

10. Glucosamine/MSM to lube the joints.

11. Cymbalta for depression.

12. Differin gel for the face rash.

13. I take my Neurotin and Flexeril faithfully.

This mixture of vitamins and minerals has kept me from the frequent steroid use and fatigue preventing biologics. There is a reason why we call Prednisone ‘The devil’s tic-tacs.’ It causes weight gain, increases mood swings, and makes you feel euphoric for no reason. Listen to your doctor, but stress how you want the least medicines possible. Do see a Psychiatrist about emotional and mental health caused by this terrible illness. I believe the depression drugs with therapy have helped me overcome this disease. Finding the right amount of healthy foods and exercise helps the mood swing from Lupus the best. It takes time to find the right balance.

I found, that the essential oils: Lavender, Neem, Jasmine, and eucalyptus have also helped me feel better when my moods were too difficult to control. Lavender oil is very good for the nerves. It helps me relax. Neem oil is great for skin problems. Jasmine oil smells great and is good to rub on feet. Eucalyptus oil is great for the sinuses.

Sometimes, we need to just breathe and believe sometimes. Take time out to use your diaphragm to breathe for a few minutes. I love my Fitbit watch because it tells me when to take a break and practice my breathing.

It's been a real struggle my whole life fighting this illness, but that is why I say, "Just one day at time." I hope my story can help another feel better. I think the more we know, then the more we grow. If anything, then the next generation has a piece of knowledge or base to change things for people with Lupus.

References

Swansonvitamens.com

webmd.com search word 'Lupus'

health
Like

About the Creator

Fatma M Robinson

Hi, everybody calls me Tina. I have many degrees, but my passion is advocating and activism for climate change, animal awareness, homelessness, racism, and social change. Currently, I am a Peer Counselor.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.