Longevity logo

Low Body Temperature Causes And Concerns

If your temperature is 96 on a regular basis there could be simple reasons. There also may be a need to talk to your health care provider.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Low Body Temperature Causes And Concerns
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

As a certified senior citizen I am more aware that there are changes in my body as I age. I understand that some come with the territory and others may be related to illness. am doing my best to pay attention to even the smallest differences so any potential problem can be nipped in the bud. Since the COVID-19 pandemic I have noticed something that was not happening before and I’m sure I’m not the only person this is happening to, I have had my temperature taken at random times in various places. I began to notice that it was always 97 or 98. When I was growing up we were taught that normal temperature is 98.6 and there was no cause for alarm unless it went over 100. The only time I ever heard anyone mention a low temperature was if someone had hypothermia.

This morning after drinking a hot cup of coffee my temperature was taken prior to my husbands appointment to have his eyes checked. The reading was 96.7 and I wondered what would it have been if I had not had two cups of coffee. I decide to research low temperature and find out all I could about it because in my opinion my temperature should be at least 98.6. I would not have given it another thought if it were my husband with the low temperature. I think it would be normal for my spouse to have a reading of 96 or 97 because he is cold natured. I walk a lot and jog daily. I’m always rushing and randomly still have hot flashes.

By Dony Wardhana on Unsplash

I drink lots of hot tea, coffee, or cocoa and sweat easily. It seemed to me that my temperature should be higher, but what do I know? Here is what I found out while researching the subject and I hope it may put someone’s mind at ease or perhaps alert another that they might need to check with their healthcare provider.

According to a low temperature can have a number of reasons that are not a cause for alarm. Here are a few reasons you have a temperature of 96 that are no cause for worry:

1. You may be an individual who naturally has a lower body temperature than the 98.6

2. Your thermometer isn’t functioning properly;

3. You took your temperature in your armpit which is often lower than when you take it by mouth.

4. You may have taken your temperature incorrectly by leaving your mouth open or you may have allowed the thermometer to not be properly resting beneath your tongue.

5. You just had something cold to eat or drink. Research indicates that a lower body temperature may be associated with age, as well.

If any of these apply then you don’t have anything to worry about. My low temperature was always tskendigitally and by someone else. If you resonate with any of the reasons above, you shouldn’t necessarily worry about your lower body temperature. Now that you know what not to worry about here are some causes for concern.

By Markus Spiske on Unsplash

1. A sudden shock

2. An under active metabolism that is working slowly.

3. Kideney disfunction

4. Low blood sugar or a lack of nutrients in your body.

5. Brain disease,

6. An under active hormonal gland.

7. If you are suffering from Hypothermia,

8. Side effects from medications such as , beta-blockers or antipsychotics.

I noticed aging was not listed and I wonder if temperatures for some decrease as they age? I’m 62 and it had only been in recent years that my temperature has been 96 or 97. My doctor had never mentioned it being a problem but still after this morning I willl check.

Harvard Health says that body temperatures are not a one size fits all and fluctuation is normal. Perhaps it’s simply a coincidence that whenever my temperature is taken in public it is never 98.6. I already take by blood pressure at home several times a day. Now I will purchase a thermometer and keep tabs on my temperature as well. This way I will have a better idea of what is going on and help me decide if I need to mention it when I see the doctor again. If you find your body temperature remains low on a regular basis please consider addressing it with your health care professional and filing out possible reasons. If it’s medication, that can be changed. If it’s normal for you then you may have to live with it. Should there be health issues that are behind the low readings you will definitely want to take care of those. Please note this article is not to diagnose any illness or give anyone the impression that their low body temperature is nothing to worry about. This information is to bring attention to the situation so that the reader can make an informed decision.

aging
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.