Longevity logo

Life With A Chronic Illness

Daily Struggles

By Johnny SixPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Today is Tuesday, November 24, 2020. I feel like I have been hit by a train. The typical feeling when I first get up in the morning. Almost every person with fibromyalgia or chronic pain feels like this when they first wake up. Sleeping is a relief since I don't feel pain, don't think. Sleep does not come easy for me at all. I will be so exhausted that I can barely keep my eyes open, but trying to fall asleep is another thing. You see, on top of fibromyalgia, I also have 2 herniated discs in my neck, 4 herniated discs in my low back, spinal degeneration, spinal stenosis, arthritis in my back, arthritis in my hands, knees & feet. I have a hard time falling asleep to different types of pain. It makes getting comfortable far from easy. I usually have to have a heating pad under my low back and a body pillow for my right side. I also have 2 pillows I use between my knees. This helps keep my spine aligned properly. When I do finally get comfortable, I sleep for a couple of hours at a time. Very frustrating! Some nights, I only manage a half-hour of sleep. This sleep pattern does not help with chronic pain. I feel like a permanently exhausted pigeon.

With the sleep struggles, comes thinking issues. Not having a full night's rest, can make things difficult. Thinking is a chore. It's a struggle to think when dealing with chronic pain, but throw in lack of sleep? UGH! It makes choices difficult. I feel overwhelmed at times. I forget little things even while doing them. Lack of sleep also makes the pain worse. When I do my every day to day things, I have to take my time. I have to decide if I had enough sleep, how much pain I am in before I can decide what to do. What would take a normal, healthy person to do in an hour, takes me about three hours.

Concentrating is extremely difficult. I have a hard time formulating the words I want to use. I have a hard time reading & doing just about everything. It's hard to concentrate when in pain. I home school my daughter & that is challenging enough. Throw in the fibro fog, yeah, challenge! That's ok though, I'm always up for a challenge. When I am trying to read, write, or do whatever, it's hard to do when someone is talking to me. I can't focus on many things at once anymore. It's a struggle to try & think & write at the same time. It's even more difficult when someone is talking to me. I have to stop what I am doing so I can focus on the person speaking. Before I was sick, I could multi-task like a goddess. Now that I deal with chronic pain, I can't do that anymore. It was very heartbreaking at first. I felt like a failure. After many years of living with this,& the support from family & friends, I know I am not a failure. I get what is called sensory overload. This is when you experience over-stimulation from your surroundings. It could be noise, smell, amount of people around you. It makes it difficult to concentrate. Most of the time, I need to stop what I am doing & take a breather. This way, I can get more accomplished & not get so frustrated that I yell at someone.

The last few days have been challenging because of trying to get things done around the house, teaching my daughter & getting ready for the upcoming holiday. I take frequent breaks but have managed to get things done. I am feeling accomplished today, although I know I will pay the price once the holiday is over. I will gladly pay the price to see my family & friends happy & healthy.

health
Like

About the Creator

Johnny Six

I'm a devoted stay-at-home mom, passionate about alternative education and homeschooling. My daughter is my focus, and together, we explore various hobbies,cooking, art, nature, reading, and music. https://helsprintsandthings.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.