Longevity logo

How I survived COVID-19 in the Philippines

Surviving the positive case of COVID-19 is extraordinarily hard. You should be cautious about the whole part that is taking place around the environment.

By Domingo Añasco-Gaces Samontina, Jr.Published 4 years ago 5 min read
1

This is a genuine story I encountered being determined to have the Positive Case of COVID-19 in the Philippines.

By CDC on Unsplash

I am a typical individual working in an international company in its auxiliary in the Philippines. This company is extreme in actualizing safety protocol, predominantly on this pandemic. On August 08, 2020, I underwent the Rapid Test in one of the diagnostic laboratories and medical clinics in my nation someplace in Imus, Cavite City, Philippines. This test is planned to conform to the prerequisites to return back to work. I am certain to go through the said testing since I know in myself that I never had any manifestations of COVID-19. In any case, unfortunately, the end result is a positive one. They took my blood out to test each SARS-COV-2 IgM, and SARS-COV-2-IgG. This is far from a hassle to prevent a conflict result, but what can I do? This is the final result.

The remarks and suggestions of the lab are for me to have a corroborative test and 14 days of isolation. In light of the result, I was encouraged to move to another unit that the company is arranging for an individual or worker with positive cases. After I got the result, I enthused promptly to Catalina Subdivision in Barangay Rosario, Pasig City, Philippines. There I used to be the only person within the room yet there are a whole lot of employees also in the other rooms of the said building. This is an exceptionally difficult encounter, others will in general treat you uncommon, well obviously in light of the fact that I have this infection. I recognize their sentiments but you cannot withstand the possibility to feel too despondent. Outside my entryway, they put this one (1) bit of bond paper with signage, "Don't Use for Isolated Person Only".

By Drew Hays on Unsplash

Realizing that I have this positive result, I possibly leave my room when I clean up, wash kitchen utensils, and utilizing the bathroom. Make certain that before I go out I check if there are employees outside or no. So spreading the infection is preposterous. One (1) day after the aftermath of my Rapid Test I was encouraged to have the Swab Test in one (1) of the hospital in Manila, Philippines. I was tested on the 9th of August 2020. The consequence of the swab test come out and tragically I was positive for Coronavirus Disease. The result takes three (3) days after the genuine swab test.

By JC Gellidon on Unsplash

The upshot explodes sort of a bomb inside the building, I don’t who spread the result but one (1) thing is bound, the worker's got panic. They said that why I’m still on the said building knowing that I’m positive about this COVID-19. One (1) of the safety officer called me immediately to comfort me to not get sad if I feel being discriminated against or differentiated. Thanks to things, the HRD Manager called me and advised me to pack all my things because I’ll be transferred to the Company’s Isolation Facility. Around 7 pm on August 12, 2020, I was picked up by a corporate service visiting the isolation facility that's located in Cubao, Quezon City, Philippines. They apportioned me to occupy the area on the 2nd floor. I used to be isolated therein room for six (6) days and was transferred again to the 4th floor on the 18th of August 2020 to complete the 14 days isolation protocol.

During my quarantine period, my company didn't fail to provide all my needs in these trying times. I received food every meal from breakfast to lunch to dinner. The food that was served is already cooked so there's no need on behalf of me to cook. I likewise was given another recompense for my different private needs.

How I survived the COVID-19?

This is my day by day routine:

  • Boiled the water.
  • Prepare one (1) cup of warm water with salt for my gargle. The remaining boiled water, I put in my tumbler. On my tumbler, I put sliced ginger and lemon.
  • I boiled again another water (I have only a small rice cooker and also the building has no water dispenser). On the boiled water, I put the sliced ginger and salt if have a lemon to be had, I also add. I allow the water boiled for about half of-hour at the same time as looking forward to the water to boil, I do have my workout (fundamental stretching).
  • After my exercise, I unplug the rice cooker and begin the “Tuob/Suob” or what we name “Steam therapy”. I do the steaming for about 1/2-hour or up till there may be no warmth at the boiled water. In steaming make certain to inhale the steam that comes from the boiled water. Use your mouth and nostril to inhale the ginger and salt (lemon if available) in the boiled water.
  • After the steaming, I wipe all the sweat anywhere in my frame. Relax for about 20 to half of-hour then devour my breakfast.
  • After consuming breakfast, I will take bathe to ease my frame particularly the sweat that comes from the steaming.
  • Check my laptop for a new email because I am working from home

Steam Therapy (Traditional)

Ingredients and Materials

1. One (1) casserole (for boiling of water)

By Michal Balog on Unsplash

2. Water

By 21 swan on Unsplash

3. Three (3) tablespoon salt (sea salt or any kind of salt)

By Jason Tuinstra on Unsplash

4. Few Slice of Ginger

By Lawrence Aritao on Unsplash

5. Few Slice of Lemon

By Sarah Gualtieri on Unsplash

6. One (1) blanket (The one that covers all your body. The thicker the better)

By Kate Hliznitsova on Unsplash

I go through my re-swab test in one of the famous hospitals within the Philippines and all of the fees had been paid by means of my company.

Video:

Like what you read?

Send me a gift to help contribute to my future endeavor.

Don't forget also to please like my story.

Thank you.

health
1

About the Creator

Domingo Añasco-Gaces Samontina, Jr.

.Professional Member of the Mechatronics and Robotics Society of the Philippines

.Certified Documented Information Controller with TUV Rheinland Qualifications

.Master of Science in Engineering (on-going) with Professional Teacher Certificate

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.