Longevity logo

How I Cured a Bladder Infection Without Antibiotics

Prevention is the best antidote

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

This is my personal testimony and it is not intended to diagnose or treat any illness. I share this as a point of reference and do not say that what I did will work for others. Always check with your personal health care provider regarding your health because infections can be deadly. Please keep in mind this story is for informational purposes only. Bladder/Urinary tract infections affect women more than men and can increase as we age. Typical symptoms include frequent urination, cloudy urine, pain and tenderness in the pelvic area, irritation, pain or burning when urinating. Fever and feeling lethargic or as if you will pass out may happen if the infection has spread to the kidneys.

When someone I know had a UTI that went to the kidney's they experienced vomiting. This was the only sign that something was wrong. Urine can also have a strong ammonia scent or smell sweet when bacteria is present. You may have only one of these signs or a combination of them. It is important to know your own body and when you may need to see a doctor. Even if the symptoms clear up you should follow up with your personal care provider and have a urine test to confirm there is no more infection in the body.

Many decades ago I had a bladder infection and the doctor gave me antibiotics. They worked, end of story or so I thought. About 10 years later I had the same symptoms but by now I was into natural cures. I drank lots of water and cranberry juice, prayed based on my faith and was healed. In the summer of 2019 the pesky symptoms returned. At times the symptoms seemed more like a vaginal yeast infection. Once again, I drank lots of water, and about a glass of cranberry juice a day. I found out years earlier when I drank three glasses in one day my eyes became puffy and burned and I had nasal congestion. I drank one glass of orange juice and immediately felt better. So eight glasses of purified water, one glass of cranberry juice each day and blueberry yogurt.

Blueberries and yogurt have been shown to help bacterial infections heal so I put the two together. In a few days I thought I was improving but something else began to happen. Whenever I had to pee there was a strong odor. It was a combination of sweet and sour. I increased drinking water and it subsided but was still there. I went to the doctor who prescribed antibiotics and the odor left but I began having pelvic pain. Two days after the antibiotics were finished I felt good as new. About a month later however the symptoms came back although only slightly. During this time my husband was diagnosed with an infection and he had no symptoms until right before he went to the doctor. We found out that men often have no signs of bladder/urinary tract infections. This means they can reinfect an unsuspecting spouse.

My husband was given antibiotics and he has had no trouble since but my symptoms continued to come and go. I read everything I could on the subject and here is how I have now remained symptom free and without that awful smell. I make sure to drink eight glasses of purified water each day. I do not count juice, coffee, tea, or milk. I eat a serving of blueberry yogurt at least three times a week and I drink at least one glass of organic cranberry juice a week. If the juice from cranberries is too strong you might consider a blend. Ocean Spray has a drink that is 100% juice from grapes, cranberries, apples and pears. I may drink an entire glass or just a few ounces each day.

I makes sure to wear under garments that are white, or at least the seat panel is white. I am careful to dry myself thoroughly after baths and showers. All of these little things have made a big difference. I also encourage my husband to drink water, and cranberry juice, as well as eat yogurt occasionally. As mentioned earlier please check with your health care provider and good luck. If you have a spouse or significant other please have them tested once you are diagnosed. You could be unwittingly passing the infection back and forth.

health
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.