Longevity logo

How A Diabetes Diagnosis Saved My Life

By mark Cannon Jr.

By Mark Cannon Jr.Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

How a Diabetes Diagnosis Saved My Life

Two years ago, I was having some breathing troubles, so I went down to the Emergency room. After an hour's wait, they couldn’t find any medical reasons for my problems and chalked it up to anxiety, which I have struggled with for the last 18 years of my life. It was at this time that they did notice my blood sugar levels were unusually high and recommended that I get some blood work done. After putting it off as long as I could, I sucked it up and got the blood done and sure enough, I had type 2 Diabetes. My mom was a diabetic who didn’t really keep it under control and ended up with a plethora of medical issues until her passing at 45 years old. I wasn’t sure I had the strength to make the lifestyle changes needed in order to get my diabetes under control, I also knew I did not want to suffer the same ways my mom had.

After the initial blood work was finished, getting a primary care doctor for the first time since I was a child (I had little trust in doctors due to seeing them fail my mom on several occasions as well as several other family members) and meeting with a dietician, I was gaining more information and what I had thought was a sure-fire death sentence was now at least manageable since as of this writing, there is no cure for Diabetes. Learning meal plans, cutting all the awful foods I was eating on a regular basis, cutting out regular soda and a host of other changes in diet and lifestyle were all extremely overwhelming at first. If I’m being honest the first couple of appointments after my diagnosis is sort of a blur, I was scared and angry and did not hold much hope and feared I was going to die young as my mom had.

Once my anger subsided and I began to take the information in at my own pace, as well as having a tremendous support system with my dad and sister, I was able to at least begin to think I could get this disease under control. The reality was, at first, I blamed my mom for allowing me to be born and for “giving” me diabetes, truth is, I had nobody to blame but myself. For far too many years I had made horrible choices, I ate bad foods, I was inactive I didn’t see doctors, etc. I have nobody to blame but myself for contacting the disease, once I got over the anger I was able to channel that into getting serious about my health. I cut out all sweets, which had been my main food group, I also cut out fast food for a long time as well, replaced soda with seltzer, for the most part, cut out coffee all these were extreme but necessary. In a few months, I had gone from eating Little Debbie snacks in ridiculous amounts to eating Broccoli, Fish, and Chicken.

I realized that keeping track of carbohydrates (which count as sugar) and adding more vegetables and protein to my diet made a massive difference, not just in my blood sugar levels, but in how I felt overall. After getting my numbers which were averaging over 300 down to the 70s and 80s I was able to enjoy some sweets in moderation. Learning to balance my diet as opposed to going to extremes was crucial. Limiting a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup to a serving size once in a while was manageable and I even appreciate them more as they aren’t something I have throughout my day. I’ve slowly seen what I can “get away with” so to speak and after 2 years and losing 70 pounds I’ve managed to get Diabetes under control. It took work, discipline, and education but really it came down to just making better choices.

I went from not walking at all to walking about a mile every day. Eating Fish, chicken, counting carbs even drinking water and diet juices, and am drinking Diet sodas again as well. Now, this is not a “this is what you should do to manage your diabetes” because every individual is different, but it’s scary, overwhelming, and depressing initially, sure was for me; but thanks to doctors, my family, and faith I have been able to make the lifestyle changes needed in order get my Diabetes under control and have learned to treat myself to some sweet treats on a reasonable level. My advice to anyone, honestly, not just diabetics, is eat healthily, find a diet and routine that works for you, you will feel better, have more energy and whether it’s losing weight, getting your numbers under control, or whatever goals you have, you will feel a real sense of accomplishment and realize having a healthy diet isn’t impossible. Here is what a day of meals is typically for me:

Breakfast: Whole Wheat English Muffin with Peanut Butter, a Clementine, and a can of Seltzer.

Lunch: Some slices of Deli Meat, another Clementine and Seltzer

Dinner: Salmon Slice, Broccoli, Baby Baked Potatoes (A Serving size of the baby potatoes is generally 4-5) and a Diet Soda or Diet Juice.

Again, this is what has worked for me. I recommend consulting an actual nutritionist so you can develop a meal plan that fits you and your lifestyle.

health
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.