Longevity logo

Five Healthy Benefits of Walking in the Rain

Raindrops are more important than you realize.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 5 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
5

The sound of the pitter-patter of raindrops falling can be soothing and relaxing. Even so, many people run for cover from the rain, grab an umbrella, raincoat, or boots. What they may not know is that there are also benefits from taking a stroll when it is raining. According to Life Health, there are four specific things that will help you feel better when you walk during the rainy season. I've added one more of my own that has benefited me and my family.

RAIN REFRESHES THE AIR

Have you ever noticed the clean scent of the air around you after it has rained? This is because the rain refreshes the atmosphere. It removes dust, pollen, and toxins that can cause allergies and other respiratory issues. I grew up in a home in the country, with a covered front porch. We could sit there as it rained and play or read books. It was an experience that cannot be put into words the way the atmosphere changed after the rain had stopped. My cousins and I often would go walking down the country road barefooted, and drink in the smell of after the rain. The best part of it was spotting rainbows in the aftermath.

WONDERFUL FOR HAIR AND SKIN

Rainwater is alkaline, and does not contain any minerals. This is why it is beneficial for hair and skin. When I was a child, almost every family in the neighborhood caught the falling rain in large barrels. We did it out of necessity and had no idea that it was good for us. We were all longing for the day we had indoor plumbing and running hot and cold water. Now that I know the benefits of rainwater, I often set out buckets to catch the falling droplets. I use them to rinse my hair and water my indoor plants. The next time it rains, consider ditching the umbrella and rain boots and just enjoy this blessing from nature.

REFRESHES THE MIND

Life health says that studies indicate that the fresh smell after the rain comes from the oils of plants mixing with the ozone and the good bacteria from the soil. It calms and relaxes the mind, which is why you feel so refreshed after breathing in the clean air that follows a good rain. Once, I decided to walk from the mall to another store that was about 4 blocks away. Out of nowhere, it began to rain and I was soaked down to my underwear. By the time I got back to the car and drove home I was wringing wet. When I dried off, however, I felt so refreshed and relaxed. Even though I had not desired to get wet that way, the rain calmed and refreshed me. I literally felt as if I had spent the afternoon swimming.

BURNS ADDITIONAL CALORIES

Walking in the rain burns extra calories according to numerous studies, which helps reduce body fat and keep you healthy. When I was a child we used to skip, jump, and run through puddles of water after it rained and we had no idea it was burning calories. If you decide to go barefooted, please be careful that you don't fall.

GREAT FUN

This is my own benefit from playing in the rain. My grandchildren and I run and dance in the rain because it is fun. We get soaking wet but we are laughing and having a ball. Most times we are barefoot which means our feet are touching the earth, so we get all the benefits of earthing and grounding. We run through mud puddles, catch the rain in small containers as it falls, and throw them on each other. Children who grow up in rural areas enjoy the fun of playing outside in the rain as part of their childhood. It comes with the territory. Once since living in the city it began raining as I was walking back home and all around me people were running for cover. I took my time and walked slowly, enjoying the falling rain. People driving by and running past me looked at me as if I were nuts, but I loved it.

If this article was beneficial please consider a heart and a tip. Thank you.

wellness
5

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.