Longevity logo

Creating A Daily Routine

What I Do In the Morning to Prep Myself For the Day

By Maya Papaya Published 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Creating A Daily Routine
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Creating a daily routine is important especially when you work from home. In my last article I gave my tips for working at home. One of the tips was to have a morning routine.

As someone who spends the majority of her time in her house working on her YouTube channel and writing (both for Vocal and personal projects), I have to have a morning routine that puts me in a good mental head space as well as something that is short and sweet.

So what does someone who is working from home, on the internet for the majority of the time, and who is constantly reading and writing for a job have as a morning routine?

Here is the answer.

Coffee. (I am a monster without it. No I am not kidding!)

Everyone needs their daily fuel and coffee is mine. It not only allows me to take some time to wake up as I move around to either brew it or get it out of the fridge (more than likely), but it also allows for my mind to slowly become more alert rather than my body just being up on autopilot.

I also occasionally go out to Starbucks so that I could have a morning drive, listen to music, and if a thought comes to my mind I talk it out. Sometimes I even pray.

Bullet Journaling. (Sometimes regular, but this is my favorite.)

It is something that combines scrap booking, drawing, and writing all in one. It is so cool because I am able to be creative with it, style my words, and think of how I want to lay out each and every single page.

It makes me think of the words that I write in it. Thinking about the words as I write makes me meditate on them and reflect. The whole idea behind journaling is to write down your thoughts and feelings, think, reflect, meditate and it should motivate you and encourage you to go on with your day.

It is helpful for me to just randomly draw and write, as I come into alertness from the coffee I am then able to write some thoughts and quotes to meditate on.

This was the first set I bought off of amazon (bullet journal set) which to this day I still use and cherish. I even post videos on my channel where I show that I use my bullet journal for planning. I also bought another separate journal as well for all of my deeper thoughts (single bullet journal).

By Estée Janssens on Unsplash

Scheduling my day. (I know this is an odd one. Trust me.)

After a nice cup of coffee, some bullet journaling, and maybe some light editing (I am starting to live for editing), I write down some of what I want to do throughout the day.

It gives me some space to evaluate what I want to do and what I should prioritize. It also allows me to write it out as I think of it and add and scratch off if need be.

Another helpful addition to this routine is that it allows me to take the time to see if I have any other appointments or outside tasks. If not and there is time throughout the day I also add some outings to be able to get out of the house and have it not be stifling.

Grooming routine. (Brush hair, brush teeth, get a shower.)

Then comes the part of the morning where I take care of all my grooming for the day. I brush my teeth, get a shower, brush my hair and put on my clothes for the day.

Since I work at home most of the time I wear comfy sweats a loose t-shirt that I can easily take on and off if it is a filming day. I try to make it a point to have some chores outside of the house every few days so that I can put on shoes and schedule out dome breaks in between filming sessions. This allows me to put on shoes as it somehow just gives you a feeling of urgency.

By Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

Checking my phone.

I regularly check on my phone in the morning after I have had some time for myself to unwind. I prefer to look up all appointments before I head out for the day, check on some notifications for any of my videos and interact if there are comments, check on what is happening in the day, and set any timers necessary.

Timers are rather helpful so that you do not make the mistake of zoning out in whatever activity you are doing, even if that is just relaxing. I would also put all notifications on silent throughout the day so that I am not distracted.

I also put my phone out of my line of sight and charging so its very presence does not make me want to constantly check it.

Writing. (It puts me in a good mindset and mental awareness for the rest of the day.)

This particular part of my morning routine is not necessarily for my work. I do occasionally work on projects or articles, but the main focus is to just write what I want and to feel good about slowly progressing into my morning.

The rest of the day is usually a toss up of anything and everything. It is always just doing one thing or another to springboard any projects, backlog any filming, or catching up on writing projects.

I will not bore you with all of those details.

As always thank you so much for your time in reading my work, it has been so much fun to read all these books and share them with you! If you want to follow more of my bookish journey I have a YouTube channel (Maya Hernandez) and of course an Instagram (live.laugh.love.give2020).

I also will be using any and all revenue from tips to put back into my writing and will be posting the timeline of my Poetry book publishing process for all of you guys very soon! Thank you so much for all of your support! This has been such an amazing journey!

lifestyle
Like

About the Creator

Maya Papaya

A creative at heart but a squirrel for a brain. Making the actual completion of anything is yet to be determined 😂

I am a content creator, writer, and world traveler (still getting to the last part)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.