Longevity logo

Accept It

It’s for the best

By Lauren (she/they)Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Lately, tough conversations are all around us. It’s not easy to get through the day without discussing something that my lovely grandmother would gracefully sidestep.

I understand; really, I do. We all have so much going on, we all have added stress. We’re worrying more than ever, and with good reason. It’s an incredibly important time. With our country’s obsession with superhero franchises and other fantasies, I’m shocked there aren’t more that are ready for the “revolution” of sorts, whatever it is that we all feel coming. A lot of my extended family (rural Midwestern Christians) swear the end is coming. Many of them have expressed multiple times that they’re just going to bide their time until Jesus comes back.

By Johny vino on Unsplash

While I can’t say for certain the end isn’t near, doesn’t the Bible say that the lawless one, the Antichrist will be here before Jesus returns? Maybe that’s a different story for a different day. Doesn’t that just affirm that this is the time to hunker down, to get real with ourselves and our loved ones?

I can’t help but wonder why some were so much more opposed to social distancing and other COVID safety regulations. I noticed that in my circle, the ones that were terrified were the ones that fill their days with activities that distract from their real lives. Busybodies, not truly busy. Caught up in our distractions, we have forgotten the truly important things. It’s not sports. It’s not churches as they’ve come to exist. It isn’t being in crowded crazy classrooms, or eating out, or going out drinking, or shopping. While I will admit those things hold value, I can say honestly that they are not worth getting or spreading COVID over.

For those of you that were struggling without all these distractions, I’m sorry. I hope it wasn’t too difficult to be around your families, and I hope you realized that your distractions caused you to lose touch with who your family truly is. I hope some of your family members challenged your idea of them, and existed outside of that idea; and I hope you let them. It’s a beautiful thing to see someone live their purpose instead of yours. I hope you got to know your loved ones again. I hope you were able to work from home, or have adequate care for your children, or make money and stay safe in whatever way felt the best for you.

And I hope you accept the challenge of this transition. I don’t know a better way to put it. Have tough conversations, let people challenge your beliefs. Address your own bias, in more ways than one. Since I come from a white, primarily Christian family, I want to encourage people of that background to think of the ways that white Christians have harmed people.

All this to say, it’s time to accept that some of your beliefs may indirectly harm people. It’s important to use critical thinking skills, and think through the consequences of actions or decisions you may be considering. It’s a common question, but an important one: who will be left behind or left out? A more challenging question could be, why am I holding so strongly to this belief? Is it because I’m insecure about what may happen if I have to give up some of my privilege?

It may be difficult to come to this conclusion if you haven’t thought in this structure before. Just like anything else, it takes practice. Again, I’m sorry if this has been difficult. Please feel free to reach out on social media if I can help at all, or answer any questions.

Love y’all.

L

humanity
1

About the Creator

Lauren (she/they)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.