Longevity logo

A Soothing DIY Bug Bite Stick Recipe

#DIY

By Nancy DPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have always really hated mosquitos! I realize that this probably sounds like everyone's personal feeling towards mosquitos... but really, I think I have problem when it comes to my personal paranoia of getting bug bites. Once I get one bite, I seem to think that there are more mosquitos than there actually are. This morning, I woke up to a giant mosquito bite on my ankle, I'm talking massive! It's just so itchy!!! Obviously, the more I scratched, the worse it got! This was the last straw! I have to do something to treat these constant bug bites. Which is why I decided to try something new. A DIY Bug Bite Stick!

The Recipe

  • 2 ounces sweet almond oil
  • 1 ounce hazelnut oil
  • 1.5 ounce beeswax
  • 50 drops lavender essential oil
  • 30 drops tea tree essential oil

About this recipe:

This recipe has an estimated time of 1 hour to make once you have all your ingredients. Before you start you will also need a double boiler of some kind and 2 ounce paperboard push up containers or a jar.

Beeswax

Beeswax as the base for this formula because it provides a nice barrier and is antimicrobial. Also, I really like the feel of beeswax on my skin.

Essential Oils

Lavender Essential Oil: To provide a nice scent and to heal. Lavender essential oil is known to have anti-inflammatory and a natural anti-allergic properties.

Tea Tree Essential Oil: To provide relief and support healing. Tea tree essential oil is also known to have anti-inflammatory and an anti-allergic properties.

Note: You can add German chamomile essential oil if you want.

German chamomile essential oil can also be added; however, it is expensive and also very optional to this recipe. After all, the beeswax is already expensive enough as it is.

Carrier Oils

  • Recommended: Almond & Hazelnut

The main purpose of adding these carrier oils is to dilute the essential oils.

Dilution Rate

  • 5% dilution rate

This means that 5% of the overall product is essential oils.

If you want to use it for all over your skin instead of just on specific bug bites, you bring it down to 2%.

Instructions

  1. Begin by melting the beeswax over a double boiler.
  2. Add in sweet almond oil and hazelnut oil and return to liquid.
  3. Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly.
  4. While still liquid, measure in essential oils and stir well.
  5. Pour carefully into 2 ounce paperboard containers, or a 4 ounce jar.
  6. Allow mixture to cool at room temperature, then cap and store in a cool, dry, and dark location.

Warning

As with all new products, if you find this irritates your skin, discontinue use.

Hello. Nice to meet you! How are you? Hmm... this feels like a really one-sided conversation... why don't you follow me on social media so I can get to know you too!

About the Author

I started blogging about two years ago and my collection of blogs and articles is getting pretty impressive. I’ve taken online classes for writing and even some classes about the art of blogging itself. It would be really awesome if you join the adventure and maybe even help me think of what to write about next. If you would like to submit some feedback or ideas, you can always tweet me on Twitter.

Like the story? Share it!

Thank you for reading my article. Would it be okay if I ask another favour though? Would it be okay if you share this on your Facebook page or Twitter? If you can't share, there is a tiny little donate box at the bottom too. No pressure though, just thought I would mention it.

Work Cited

West, Helen. “What Are Essential Oils and Do They Work?” Healthline, Healthline Media, 30 May 2017, www.healthline.com/nutrition/what-are-essential-oils.

VanceKatie, Katie. “Boo Boo Stick: A Natural and Effective Boo Boo and Bug Bite Stick Recipe.” DIY Natural, 17 July 2019, www.diynatural.com/boo-boo-stick/.

diy
Like

About the Creator

Nancy D

Facebook @NancyDBlogging

Twitter @BlogsNancy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.