Longevity logo

A Need to Switch Evening Snacks

I'm still fighting for perfect diabetes.

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I realize I can’t do cereal, breakfast bars, or chocolate anything for breakfast. Shakeology from Beach Body is actually giving me stamina but not in excess. I can still slow down at night with my meds. I need to improve my medication snack as well as my diet overall. I have been struggling with infusion sets failing twice in one batch, so I have decided not to use that batch since all could be flawed. I opened another box, which seems to be working so far. Having high blood sugar from failed infusion sets or a messed up bolus for insulin taken for a meal can suck.

Yes, this scared me to death. But now I’m stable again, and I feel less life and death messed up. Evening snacks, for me, need to be low carb or a small servings of carbs. I think salami makes a good medication evening snack. So does cheese, although I’m getting into the habit of using Lactaid. I’m doing better with everything overall despite the constant high blood sugar yesterday because of the excessive heat.

At least it won’t be so bad today. I’m now stable. I’m finally feeling better.

Infusion sets that fail need to be returned. I will call into Medtronic today to set this in motion. My evening snacks can be soup, which is low calorie, as is soup being a good lunch. Soup works for lunch. Soup is awesome. Soup may have calories attached, but not always. I have recipes for chili too since I grew up without having chili on a regular basis. I didn’t have meatloaf either. There were many things I was actually not able to get growing up that I can’t be specific about just yet. I do not know why some people refuse to take medication, or how they can function without it.

Soup works as a great snack. I also use All Recipes.com and my meager supply of cookbooks. The thing is, on the 31st, I’m getting myself a treat. I’m going to have Thanksgiving in May, and this means I’m buying some turkey at Boston Market. I’m also going to have sides. This will be a touch expensive, but it is worth it. I found a job teaching people English online. I also signed up for a website that lets people find editors or be an editor since I need to professionally edit my book on bullies and manipulators.

I had to get up a lot tonight to test, but somehow I feel well rested anyway. Summer is a time to go to bed late. This is why I like summer, I’m drifting into my summer schedule. I’m doing okay in summer since I rarely get sick, as well as the fact I’m not often bothered by minor health problems like little things. Last summer was great. This summer will be awesome. I need more protein than I’m getting I suppose, because I do have chicken strips. I have learned how to make a sugar-free lemon sauce. But it does have sugar because of the lemonade. When you have set failures, and you eat without taking insulin, high blood sugar results. This is why I need to improve my dinner/evening snacks. I’m deliberately trying to lose weight for summer, give or take my knee injury. The average in my other glucometer is horrible. I realized my glucometer still works. I was wondering if the highs were partially false readings, which can happen. It depends on how much sugar you have on your finger. If you stick your finger in a soda and try to test, you will see a high blood sugar oriented result. If you stick a ketone strip to see how much sugar can turn it purple, you will also get a high blood sugar result.

health
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.