Longevity logo

A Body in Motion, Stays in Motion

My Cheese Slid: A Spiritual Journey

By Momma OPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2
A Body in Motion, Stays in Motion
Photo by Luca Micheli on Unsplash

Greetings and Salutations!

During my morning workout, my mind began to wonder as I allow it, I’m learning where it goes, so must my conscious attention, and I began thinking about pain.

Frankly, physically, my low back and hip were, as they used to say, paining me, maybe they still say it, who knows, I haven’t heard it in years. As for the pain, I can still move, but my leg has gone out on me a few times. Yesterday, at the warmest part of day, 62 degrees, I was able to make it to The Riverwalk in downtown Pueblo, Colorado, sit by the waterfall, walking between it and the bathroom, and, if I’m honest, I had to sit down in between to rest.

I however was there, but when the sun dropped behind the buildings, sadly, I was done, too cold for me, Wild Thing and I sat on a bench enjoying the last of the day's sun and just sitting together. I’m glad we got those moments together; it was because of Wild Thing’s encouragement that I left the house, and the fact that he drove me. For some reason, even with the pain, I got the idea to go, I mentioned it, and before I could talk myself out of it, I was ready and in the car. In case I haven’t said it enough, THANK YOU Wild Thing!

Now, back to the original talk, about pain, I’m learning to not just live with it, function with it, but, I am thriving.

I could not have imagined a year ago being out in a public place, alone. Yet yesterday I did just that, stepping out of/through the fear that has kept me in my home for most of 4 years. Each morning I workout, whatever that looks like for the day, I could be standing there gently clapping my hands in front, and behind me, I could be moving to gentle music, I could be doing a full Yoga class, I could be dancing *by the way, took a Bu Ti Class (not sure of the spelling and it is no longer offered. The studio, and instructors are amazing though for other classes) once, at Nova Stella Yoga on S. Union in Pueblo and, LOVED it, had a hell of a time keeping up, but I tried, and smiled through most of it, I had a really, good, instructor, and enjoyed the class very much, even recognized some of the music. The pain, however, dampened that experience. Pain makes it hard to enjoy much if I’m honest.

Pain made me feel like I was wrapped in bubble wrapped, separate from everything happening outside of me.

Pain made it hard to see anything outside of it as real. The pain was REAL, or was it?

I mean, yeah, it was happening to me, I was experiencing pain due to symptoms from Fibromyalgia and Arthritis. I was overwhelmed by it.

Pain has a way of invading, everything becomes colored by it.

For years I was mired in it.

A few I wantonly wallowed in it.

I did, however, tire of it.

January 1, 2018, I decided to make a change, and looking back … I cannot believe how far I’ve come. It has taken a lot of inner work … releasing … forgiving … refilling … healing, discovering what looks like for me.

Unwell, I know what that looks like, I’ve been that since my first ear surgery for tubes or maybe it was having my tonsils removed, I don’t remember, and I’m not sure who to ask anymore, but I was 6 or younger. Technically, I could go back to birth, being premature and needing to spend my first months of life in a bubble, without human touch.

But that my friends may be another revelation.

I started working on myself in, I was going to say, January of 2018, but that is when I started the physical; the emotional, mental, Spiritual work started in the Spring of 2017 when I found my first Michael MIrdad video, and I have come a long way since then. I had been housebound since Fall of 2016, and by that, I mean I did not leave the house. I had had a mental/emotional breakdown in early Fall, at one point spending my time hiding in a closet in fear of other people, although to be honest, LOOK at some of them, do you blame me?

But I digress.

The pain, regardless of physical, mental, emotional, or Spiritual, for me, by me, needed to be healed. Today after years of being bed/chair=bound the minute the temperature was below 50, I have been doing a workout each morning, I’m cooking a few times a week, doing laundry, even considering doing some baking, and I know I couldn’t even THINK about that last year.

In my beginner's Yoga class, my instructor said to me, about having Fibromyalgia, “Me too, I learned a body in motion stays in motion.”

And I have.

The more I learned the more I moved, the more I moved, the more I could move, and at first, I felt worse, but having been warned this may happen, I grudgingly pushed past it. I’m coming up to the start of my 3rd year moving, not only have I stayed in motion, each year I have more motion than the one before. My Shaman told me 2 years ago I would never again be able to shrink myself back into who I was when I walked through her door, and she was right, I am constantly surprising, and redefining myself.

Pain, is a frame of mind, it is us wishing things were not as they are, acceptance of reality is the only way to change it. Fearing and avoiding gives energy to that thing.

I realized, I was in pain no matter what, so, I choose the things for which I am willing to endure more of the pain, for years I gave all of that precious little time to others, that I’m not sure understood its value. Today, I give more of that time to me, and I find I have more to give to others.

Pain warps our bodies, our mind, our heart, and our Spirit when we allow it.

To help counter this, I have begun this as a practice:

Momma O’s Devotion for the Root Chakra/Muladhara, it is associated with the color red, and the direction of East.

I imagine a bright red light at my Root Chakra, which is located between your anus and genitals, facing/imagining East as I say:

I greet thee this moment in love and gratitude. Bless this moment and all after with stability and safety.

After the greeting, I stand, while making the seed sound LAM (L.ahhhh.mmmmm), or repeating or alternating with, “I am safe and secure”, then, I choose at least one of the Asanas that help to balance the Root Chakra to practice for as long as I can, up to 3 minutes:

Mountain Pose– Spend a few minutes to allow your feet and body to reconnect to the earth.

Chair Pose– Strengthens your legs, glutes, and abdominals while also grounding + balancing.

Pyramid– Relieves stiffness in your legs + hips, and elongates your spine.

Five-Pointed Star-Tones your legs, provides a sense of grounding.

Perhaps this will help you get some motion in your life.

Love, Light, and gentle hugs to you,

Momma O

* https://scontent.fapa1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.15752-9/128120627_366458177977448_9137735569824489535_n.jpg?_nc_cat=106&ccb=2&_nc_sid=ae9488&_nc_ohc=mSOsNhSXs0gAX_3_M__&_nc_ht=scontent.fapa1-1.fna&oh=ff34087d83cbc06011b4f28e79465f87&oe=5FE5116E

* https://chakrashealth.com/1-chakra-root-chakra/

*https://www.facebook.com/novastellayoga

spirituality
2

About the Creator

Momma O

Writer, intuitive writer, energy worker, medium, psychic, nurse, wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend, lover, someone with knowledge about things I have used to help myself with feelings of depression, anxiety ... my life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.