Longevity logo

7 Best Self-Care Tips

Lemon Water. Diet. Head Space.

By Katrina CeceriPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

These are seven tips for caring for oneself.

1.) Warm Lemon Water in the Morning

Not only will you start your day with a glass of water for hydration, but adding a lemon to it will have numerous benefits. Lemons are rich in Vitamin C, which is great for boosting your immune system and fighting colds. Vitamin C also helps calm blemishes and wrinkles.

They don't call it a "detox water" for nothing, too! Lemons act as a diuretic, which means they speed the rate of urination and, in turn, purify your body by releasing toxins faster.

2.) Speaking of water... Drink lots of it.

Hydration is KEY and I cannot stress that enough. Drinking water helps your digestion, your skin, and gives you more energy throughout the day.

TIP: Drink cold water at the gym or while exercising to cool you down and promote weight loss. Drink room temperature water to help your digestion, detox, and relieve pain (camps, etc).

3.) 1 Spoonful of Honey Mixed with 1 Spoonful of Cinnamon

Massage this mixture onto your face for three minutes and then wash it off with warm water. Splash your face with cold water when it is all off to help minimize your pores. It helps to remove blackheads and leaves your skin feeling silky smooth.

4.) Find a skin and hair routine that works for you.

No one's skin or hair is the same! Some people are oily, some are dry, and some are in the middle. Not everyone has three hours a day to spend on their hair and skin. It is important to find a facial cleanser that works right for your skin, as well as a shampoo and conditioner. I recommend seeing a dermatologist to get a "skin check-up." No one's advice is as good as a professional's. The same goes for your hair. Ask your hair dresser!

Set aside time each day — even if it just ten minutes — to wash your face and moisturize. Moisturizing is important for your skin, even if it's oily. If you strip your skin of its natural oils, it will end up overproducing and causing more oil and breakouts than before. Try an oil free moisturizer if you have oily skin.

5.) Put your phone down!

Being on your phone or laptop all day everyday is going to stress you out to no end. Find a hobby like reading, exercising, or anything that gets you away from technology.

6.) Eat healthier.

I personally live on a mainly whole foods, plant-based diet, which means I do not eat animals or any animal products and stay away from added oils and refined sugars. There are many benefits of this diet, from the medical perspective, like the prevention of heart disease (this was a big one for me since heart disease is VERY prevalent in my family), diabetes, and even some forms of cancer. From a personal standpoint, when I went vegan, I noticed a dramatic change in my skin and hair — it's never been this healthy before. I sleep more regularly and am not as constipated (TMI, I know, but it's something a lot of people struggle with and no one ever talks about it). Since my diet consists of a lot of fruits and veggies, I take in a lot more fiber than I otherwise would, which helps to detoxify the body and get rid of harmful toxins.

If this diet is too extreme for you I suggest cutting out a little at a time. Dairy and red meat would be the two things I would start with. A Mediterranean diet is a much less extreme version than vegetarianism and veganism.

7.) Meditate or find your "zen."

Set aside some time to clear your head and think of positive thoughts. In a world that is so negative, it is important to think of things that distract you from that. I like to sit in my bed for a few extra minutes in the morning and take deep breaths while thinking of all the good that the day will bring me. This starts my day right and helps me be a better person.

selfcare
Like

About the Creator

Katrina Ceceri

I have too many interests to just put one here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.